Skip to main content
AIDiveForge AIDiveForge

APIMart vs LM Studio

Bottom line

APIMart is paid, while LM Studio is free. You can run LM Studio on your own machine or server; APIMart is hosted by the vendor.

Which one should you try?

APIMart

Paid

Best for Development teams using multiple AI models

LM Studio

Free

Best for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models

Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

APIMart

APIMart

APIMart is a paid API gateway that routes requests to 500-plus models — including chat, image, video, and audio — through one OpenAI-compatible interface, with discounts the vendor states range from 30 to 70 percent off official provider pricing. You swap one base URL and keep your existing SDK. The catalog spans OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, ByteDance, Qwen, Kimi, and MiniMax, so switching between providers is a config change, not a refactor. The ceiling shows up when you need call-level control: APIMart is a passive gateway, not an orchestrator, so any branching logic, retries, or fallback chains live entirely in your own code. Teams building complex multi-step pipelines maintain that routing layer themselves.

LM Studio

LM Studio

LM Studio is a free desktop app for local models with a headless server (llmster), local APIs and SDKs. We ran llmster on a CPU-only server and measured install, load time and offline behavior.

AttributeAPIMartLM Studio
PricingPaidFree
Price—Free to run models locally; optional cloud plans: Bionic+ $20/mo, Pro $100/mo
Pricing checkedNot checked yetOct 16, 2026
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Open sourceNoNo
Has APIYesYes
Self-hosted optionNoYes
PlatformsCloud-based API servicemacOS (Intel and Apple Silicon), Windows, Linux (x64 and ARM64)
Released—2023-05
Pros
  • OpenAI-compatible API surface, which means your existing SDK code reaches the full 500-plus model catalog by changing one base URL — no per-provider SDK migrations when you add a new model.
  • Per-model discount pricing displayed transparently in the marketplace, so you can calculate actual cost before committing to a model in production rather than discovering the bill after a spike.
  • Single API key covers chat, image, video, and audio providers, which means you stop maintaining separate credentials and billing accounts for each vendor and reduce the blast radius when a key rotates.
  • The docs provide an llms.txt prompt so AI coding agents like Cursor or Claude can instantly understand the full APIMart endpoint catalog, cutting integration time from hours to minutes for developers using AI-assisted workflows.
  • Usage-based billing where you pay only for successful requests, so failed or errored calls do not consume budget — a material difference when you are stress-testing a new model with high failure rates.
  • A desktop app and a headless server (llmster), so you can chat with models or serve them to your apps.
  • Local APIs plus Python and TypeScript SDKs.
  • Works offline: with its update and extension hosts blocked, it still loaded and served the model.
  • Used 2 GB of memory with our 3B model, a little less than Ollama's 2.2 GB.
Cons
  • APIMart is a passive relay: it does not retry failed requests, fall back to an alternative model when a provider returns an error, or route based on latency or cost thresholds. Teams that need gateway-level resilience write and maintain that logic themselves — at which point they are running two systems.
  • No self-hosted deployment option exists. Teams operating under data-residency or compliance requirements that prohibit third-party intermediaries handling request payloads cannot use APIMart at all and switch to a self-hostable alternative like LiteLLM.
  • The discount model is a paid-only service with no documented free tier. Prototyping before committing budget requires a sign-up and funding the account, which adds friction for early-stage evaluation compared to providers offering free trial credits.
  • Slow cold load: lms load took 44.6 s, about 34 s of it before the engine started, with nothing in the logs to explain the wait.
  • Closed source and free under LM Studio's terms; only the lms CLI is open source (MIT).
  • Ollama generated text up to 1.38x faster on the same model and cores.

Made up your mind?

APIMart

Paid

Best for Development teams using multiple AI models

LM Studio

Free

Best for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models

Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.

Share this comparison