Cactus vs LM Studio
Cactus has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while LM Studio is free.
Which one should you try?
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Cactus
Open-source inference engine for deploying AI models locally on mobile and edge devices with automatic cloud fallback.

LM Studio
LM Studio is a free desktop app for local models with a headless server (llmster), local APIs and SDKs. We ran llmster on a CPU-only server and measured install, load time and offline behavior.
| Attribute | Cactus | LM Studio |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | Free tier; paid hybrid inference and NPU acceleration features | Free to run models locally; optional cloud plans: Bionic+ $20/mo, Pro $100/mo |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Oct 16, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | Yes |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, macOS, wearables (smartwatches, AR glasses); Linux, macOS, Windows (CLI) | macOS (Intel and Apple Silicon), Windows, Linux (x64 and ARM64) |
| Languages | Multi-language via Qwen3 and open models; transcription supports all audio languages | — |
| Released | 2025 | 2023-05 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.