Dify vs LM Studio
Dify has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while LM Studio is free.
Which one should you try?
Dify
FreemiumBest for Teams building RAG, chatbot or agent apps with a visual builder
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Dify
LLM app platform with visual workflows, RAG, agents and app APIs. Free Sandbox and self-hosted Community edition.

LM Studio
LM Studio is a free desktop app for local models with a headless server (llmster), local APIs and SDKs. We ran llmster on a CPU-only server and measured install, load time and offline behavior.
| Attribute | Dify | LM Studio |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | Free Sandbox; Professional $590/workspace/year; Team $1,590/workspace/year (annual billing) | Free to run models locally; optional cloud plans: Bionic+ $20/mo, Pro $100/mo |
| Pricing checked | Oct 17, 2026 | Oct 16, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | Yes |
| Platforms | Dify Cloud (web); self-hosted with Docker Compose (min. 2 CPU cores, 4 GiB RAM) | macOS (Intel and Apple Silicon), Windows, Linux (x64 and ARM64) |
| Released | — | 2023-05 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Dify
FreemiumBest for Teams building RAG, chatbot or agent apps with a visual builder
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.