Skip to main content
AIDiveForge AIDiveForge

Apertis vs LM Studio

Bottom line

Apertis has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while LM Studio is free. You can run LM Studio on your own machine or server; Apertis is hosted by the vendor.

Which one should you try?

Apertis

Freemium

Best for Developers using Cursor, Claude Code, Cline, or other multi-model coding agents

LM Studio

Free

Best for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models

Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Apertis

Apertis

Apertis functions as an API gateway layer that sits between your coding agents — Cursor, Cline, Claude Code and the like — and the underlying model providers. You point your agent at one endpoint, authenticate once, and the platform handles provider routing, failover, and cost tracking behind it. The vendor states that automatic failover keeps production agents running when a provider has an outage, which removes a class of silent failures teams usually discover too late. The free tier covers basic models with no payment required; premium models and higher quotas are paid-only features. The platform is cloud-only — no self-hosted option — so your API traffic routes through Apertis infrastructure, and teams with data-residency requirements hit that wall immediately.

LM Studio

LM Studio

LM Studio is a free desktop app for local models with a headless server (llmster), local APIs and SDKs. We ran llmster on a CPU-only server and measured install, load time and offline behavior.

AttributeApertisLM Studio
PricingFreemiumFree
Price$33/quarterFree to run models locally; optional cloud plans: Bionic+ $20/mo, Pro $100/mo
Pricing checkedJun 11, 2026Oct 16, 2026
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Open sourceNoNo
Has APIYesYes
Self-hosted optionNoYes
PlatformsWeb-based API; CLI/TUI agents via supported integrationsmacOS (Intel and Apple Silicon), Windows, Linux (x64 and ARM64)
Released—2023-05
Pros
  • Single API endpoint for multiple model providers, so rotating a compromised key or switching a model mid-project touches one config entry instead of one per agent per provider.
  • Automatic provider failover is built into the routing layer, which means a production coding agent keeps running through an upstream outage instead of throwing an unhandled exception at the worst possible time.
  • Unified billing across providers, so monthly AI infrastructure cost is one line item rather than a reconciliation exercise across five separate vendor invoices.
  • New model versions are added to the platform automatically per vendor documentation, so your agent gains access without a credentials update or a config change on your end.
  • Free tier covers basic models with no payment required, which means a team can validate the integration and routing behavior before committing budget to premium model access.
  • A desktop app and a headless server (llmster), so you can chat with models or serve them to your apps.
  • Local APIs plus Python and TypeScript SDKs.
  • Works offline: with its update and extension hosts blocked, it still loaded and served the model.
  • Used 2 GB of memory with our 3B model, a little less than Ollama's 2.2 GB.
Cons
  • No self-hosted deployment option exists — all API traffic routes through Apertis cloud infrastructure. Teams with data-residency requirements, HIPAA obligations, or any compliance posture that restricts where model prompts travel cannot use this platform and will move to a self-hostable gateway like LiteLLM or a direct provider integration instead.
  • The value proposition depends entirely on the providers Apertis has contracted with at any given moment. If your agent's critical model — a specific Anthropic version, a fine-tuned endpoint — is not available through the platform, you are back to maintaining a direct integration alongside the gateway, which recreates the fragmentation problem you were solving.
  • Cost predictability, which the platform positions as a core benefit, breaks down if your agent usage is highly variable and you are comparing against a pay-per-token direct model. Flat subscription pricing on a low-usage month means you overpay relative to direct API access — teams that run bursty, project-gated workloads rather than continuous agent pipelines see worse economics here.
  • Slow cold load: lms load took 44.6 s, about 34 s of it before the engine started, with nothing in the logs to explain the wait.
  • Closed source and free under LM Studio's terms; only the lms CLI is open source (MIT).
  • Ollama generated text up to 1.38x faster on the same model and cores.

Made up your mind?

Apertis

Freemium

Best for Developers using Cursor, Claude Code, Cline, or other multi-model coding agents

LM Studio

Free

Best for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models

Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.