Skip to main content
AIDiveForge AIDiveForge

APIMart vs Skillier.ai

Bottom line

APIMart is paid, while Skillier.ai has a free plan plus paid upgrades. You can run Skillier.ai on your own machine or server; APIMart is hosted by the vendor.

Which one should you try?

APIMart

Paid

Best for Development teams using multiple AI models

Skillier.ai

Freemium

Best for Claude Desktop and Claude Web users seeking rapid skill routing

Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

APIMart

APIMart

APIMart is a paid API gateway that routes requests to 500-plus models — including chat, image, video, and audio — through one OpenAI-compatible interface, with discounts the vendor states range from 30 to 70 percent off official provider pricing. You swap one base URL and keep your existing SDK. The catalog spans OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, ByteDance, Qwen, Kimi, and MiniMax, so switching between providers is a config change, not a refactor. The ceiling shows up when you need call-level control: APIMart is a passive gateway, not an orchestrator, so any branching logic, retries, or fallback chains live entirely in your own code. Teams building complex multi-step pipelines maintain that routing layer themselves.

Skillier.ai

Skillier.ai

Skillier sits between you and your AI client, detecting what domain you're working in and loading the relevant skill — finance modeling, legal reasoning, DevOps runbooks — into the context without you leaving the interface. The Lite version is MIT-licensed and runs offline, which matters for air-gapped environments where cloud-dependent tooling is a non-starter. The routing model hands control back through an AskUserQuestion prompt, so you confirm the skill selection rather than having it decided for you. That model works cleanly for single-domain sessions. Blended workflows — writing copy while checking financial assumptions, for instance — require you to manually re-route between skills, and the seams show.

AttributeAPIMartSkillier.ai
PricingPaidFreemium
Pricing checkedNot checked yetNot checked yet
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Open sourceNoNo
Has APIYesNo
Self-hosted optionNoYes
PlatformsCloud-based API serviceClaude Desktop, Claude Web, Claude Code CLI, OpenClaw
Pros
  • OpenAI-compatible API surface, which means your existing SDK code reaches the full 500-plus model catalog by changing one base URL — no per-provider SDK migrations when you add a new model.
  • Per-model discount pricing displayed transparently in the marketplace, so you can calculate actual cost before committing to a model in production rather than discovering the bill after a spike.
  • Single API key covers chat, image, video, and audio providers, which means you stop maintaining separate credentials and billing accounts for each vendor and reduce the blast radius when a key rotates.
  • The docs provide an llms.txt prompt so AI coding agents like Cursor or Claude can instantly understand the full APIMart endpoint catalog, cutting integration time from hours to minutes for developers using AI-assisted workflows.
  • Usage-based billing where you pay only for successful requests, so failed or errored calls do not consume budget — a material difference when you are stress-testing a new model with high failure rates.
  • Offline skill access via the self-hostable Lite version, so air-gapped teams and low-connectivity environments can load domain expertise without a live API call — something cloud-only tools in this category cannot offer.
  • Skill routing that triggers without leaving the chat interface, which means the context window you've built up in a session doesn't get abandoned every time you need to shift to a different domain.
  • MIT-licensed Lite version with no paid tier required, so teams that need to audit, fork, or self-host the code have a legal path to do that without a procurement conversation.
  • Explicit AskUserQuestion confirmation before a skill loads, so you stay in control of what gets injected into context — preventing the silent prompt stuffing that degrades output quality when auto-routing guesses wrong.
Cons
  • APIMart is a passive relay: it does not retry failed requests, fall back to an alternative model when a provider returns an error, or route based on latency or cost thresholds. Teams that need gateway-level resilience write and maintain that logic themselves — at which point they are running two systems.
  • No self-hosted deployment option exists. Teams operating under data-residency or compliance requirements that prohibit third-party intermediaries handling request payloads cannot use APIMart at all and switch to a self-hostable alternative like LiteLLM.
  • The discount model is a paid-only service with no documented free tier. Prototyping before committing budget requires a sign-up and funding the account, which adds friction for early-stage evaluation compared to providers offering free trial credits.
  • Multi-domain sessions hit the routing model's friction ceiling fast: each skill switch requires a confirmation prompt, so a workflow that blends financial modeling with technical writing generates repeated interruptions — teams doing this regularly report falling back to manual context pasting because it's faster.
  • No API surface is described, which means teams who want to embed skill routing inside a pipeline, a CI step, or any system outside Claude Desktop and Claude Web have no integration path — at that point they are looking at building their own context-injection layer or switching to a tool that exposes programmatic control.
  • Scoped exclusively to Claude Desktop and Claude Web at time of review, so organizations standardized on other AI clients — GPT-4 via ChatGPT, Gemini, or internal models — get no benefit and need a different solution entirely.

Made up your mind?

APIMart

Paid

Best for Development teams using multiple AI models

Skillier.ai

Freemium

Best for Claude Desktop and Claude Web users seeking rapid skill routing

Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.

Share this comparison