LM Studio vs MTPLX
LM Studio does support MTP now: version 0.4.14 made MTP speculative decoding a stable feature for models that ship with multi-token prediction heads. So the choice is less about whether you get MTP and more about scope. LM Studio is a general desktop app for Mac, Windows and Linux with a big model browser; MTPLX is a Mac-only runtime built entirely around MTP on a short list of models, with its own speed and correctness claims.
Does LM Studio support MTP?
Yes. LM Studio's 0.4.14 changelog calls it a "Stable release of MTP Speculative Decoding" and says it works with models that include built-in MTP heads, so you need to download an MTP-capable model for it to do anything. Before that, LM Studio's speculative decoding meant loading a second, smaller draft model from the same family, which costs memory. With MTP heads, the draft lives inside the main checkpoint, which is the same idea MTPLX is built on.
Why you might still want MTPLX on a Mac
MTPLX (Apache-2.0, Apple Silicon M1 or newer, macOS 14+) does nothing but this, and it publishes its own tuned packs for Qwen 3.8, Qwen 3.6, Ternary Bonsai 2, Gemma 4 and MiMo. The vendor reports Qwen 3.6 27B at 81.74 tokens per second on an M5 Max, 2.69 times plain decode, and says every release checks the fast path against the plain path token by token. Neither tool's MTP speed has been measured by AIDiveForge, so treat those as MTPLX's claims.
Its server speaks both the OpenAI and Anthropic APIs (/v1/messages), which helps if you point Claude Code at a local model. LM Studio's local API and Python and TypeScript SDKs are the more established route for other apps. MTPLX is also one developer's project; LM Studio is a company product (Element Labs).
Price and license
Running local models costs nothing in either. LM Studio's app is closed source and free under its own terms, with optional cloud plans: Bionic+ at $20 a month and Pro at $100 a month for US-hosted open models. MTPLX is open source with no paid tier, installed from a DMG, Homebrew or pip.
LM Studio: Pick LM Studio if you want one app to browse, chat with and serve many models on Mac, Windows or Linux, with MTP turned on where a model supports it.
MTPLX: Pick MTPLX if you're on an Apple Silicon Mac, run its supported Qwen or Gemma packs for coding agents, and want an open-source runtime tuned only for MTP speed.
Which one should you try?
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
MTPLX
FreeBest for MacBook Pro / Mac Mini users running 27B+ models locally
Field notes
All field notes →- LM Studio cold starts: the load command and engine timed different things
Our lms load command took 44.6 seconds while the engine reported 8.1 seconds loading the model. The two timers measured different boundaries.
- How much RAM did our 3B local model actually use?
We observed 1.6–2.2 GB in the model processes running one 3B GGUF. Those numbers are not whole-system RAM requirements or a recommendation for a particular laptop.
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

LM Studio
LM Studio is a free desktop app for local models with a headless server (llmster), local APIs and SDKs. We ran llmster on a CPU-only server and measured install, load time and offline behavior.

MTPLX
The vendor states a 2.24× decode speedup on Qwen3-27B running on an M5 Max MacBook Pro, achieved by using the model's own built-in MTP heads as the drafter — no second model loaded, no external checkpoint to maintain. Acceptance is handled via Leviathan–Chen rejection sampling with a residual (p − q)+ correction, verified bit-exact against single-token autoregressive output. It serves an OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible API, so downstream tooling like Claude Code, Cline, or the openai-python SDK connects without shims. The wall appears immediately if you leave Apple Silicon: the runtime is explicitly Apple Silicon only, and the custom Metal kernels have no CUDA path.
| Attribute | LM Studio | MTPLX |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free | Free |
| Price | Free to run models locally; optional cloud plans: Bionic+ $20/mo, Pro $100/mo | — |
| Pricing checked | Oct 16, 2026 | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | Yes |
| Platforms | macOS (Intel and Apple Silicon), Windows, Linux (x64 and ARM64) | macOS 14+ on Apple Silicon (M1 or newer) |
| Released | 2023-05 | 2025 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
MTPLX
FreeBest for MacBook Pro / Mac Mini users running 27B+ models locally
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.