llama.cpp vs LM Studio
llama.cpp is open source and LM Studio is not.
Which one should you try?
llama.cpp
FreeBest for Developers who want direct control over how a local model runs
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

llama.cpp
llama.cpp is the MIT-licensed C/C++ engine that runs GGUF language models on your own hardware and serves them through an OpenAI-compatible API. LocalAI runs models through a backend built on it. We ran its official Docker server with a 3B model in about 1.6 GB of memory on a CPU-only server.

LM Studio
LM Studio is a free desktop app for local models with a headless server (llmster), local APIs and SDKs. We ran llmster on a CPU-only server and measured install, load time and offline behavior.
| Attribute | llama.cpp | LM Studio |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free | Free |
| Price | — | Free to run models locally; optional cloud plans: Bionic+ $20/mo, Pro $100/mo |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Oct 16, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes | No |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | Yes |
| Platforms | Linux, macOS, Windows, Android, ChromeOS, iOS, Web (WebGPU) | macOS (Intel and Apple Silicon), Windows, Linux (x64 and ARM64) |
| Released | 2023-03 | 2023-05 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
llama.cpp
FreeBest for Developers who want direct control over how a local model runs
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.