AI Boost vs LM Studio
AI Boost has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while LM Studio is free. You can run LM Studio on your own machine or server; AI Boost is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
AI Boost
FreemiumBest for Development teams using agentic coding assistants (Cursor, Claude Code)
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

AI Boost
MCP server for capturing and injecting developer expertise as searchable, reusable context for LLM agents.

LM Studio
LM Studio is a free desktop app for local models with a headless server (llmster), local APIs and SDKs. We ran llmster on a CPU-only server and measured install, load time and offline behavior.
| Attribute | AI Boost | LM Studio |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | — | Free to run models locally; optional cloud plans: Bionic+ $20/mo, Pro $100/mo |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Oct 16, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Web (MCP server), integrates with Cursor, Claude Code, and generic MCP clients | macOS (Intel and Apple Silicon), Windows, Linux (x64 and ARM64) |
| Released | — | 2023-05 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
AI Boost
FreemiumBest for Development teams using agentic coding assistants (Cursor, Claude Code)
LM Studio
FreeBest for People who want a desktop app for downloading and chatting with local models
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.