Agent Development Kit (ADK) vs ChatGPT
ADK is Google's open-source framework for writing AI agents in code; ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat app. They don't compete. People searching "adk chatgpt" usually want one of two things: to use OpenAI's models inside an ADK agent (you can), or OpenAI's own equivalent of ADK, which is the Agents SDK rather than ChatGPT.
What ADK gives you
ADK (Agent Development Kit) is Apache 2.0 licensed and comes in Python, TypeScript, Go, Java and Kotlin. You install it with pip install google-adk (or npm install @google/adk), define agents and tools in code, and test them in its web dev UI or from the command line. The Python package reached v2.12.0 on 13 October 2026.
It's built with Gemini in mind, but its model docs cover Claude directly and connectors for LiteLLM, Ollama, vLLM and others, and there's a page on OpenAI models. When you're done you can deploy to Google Cloud (Agent Runtime, Cloud Run, GKE) or put it in a container on your own servers. The framework is free; you pay whichever model provider you call.
If you meant OpenAI's version
OpenAI's code-first agent framework is the Agents SDK, MIT-licensed, in Python and JavaScript. That's the like-for-like comparison with ADK: both are libraries you write agents with, and each leans toward its own company's models while accepting others.
Where ChatGPT fits
ChatGPT is the product you use directly, not a toolkit. Plans are Free, Go at $8 a month, Plus at $20, Pro from $100 (with $200 and $500 tiers), and Business at $25 per user monthly or $20 billed annually. A ChatGPT subscription doesn't pay for API calls: an ADK agent that uses GPT models needs an OpenAI API key, billed at API rates.
Agent Development Kit (ADK): Pick ADK if you're a developer building your own multi-agent system in code and want something you can deploy to Google Cloud or your own servers.
ChatGPT: Pick ChatGPT if you want to use an AI assistant for writing, research and files yourself, with no code to write.
Facts checked Oct 18, 2026 against 5 sources
Which one should you try?
Agent Development Kit (ADK)
FreeBest for Developers building production-grade multi-agent systems with precise control
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Agent Development Kit (ADK)
ADK is the open-source agent development framework that lets you build, debug, and deploy reliable AI agents at enterprise scale.

ChatGPT
OpenAI's assistant for writing, research, analysis and file creation through Chat, Work and Codex.
| Attribute | Agent Development Kit (ADK) | ChatGPT |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free | Freemium |
| Price | — | Free; paid plans from US$8/month (Go; regional availability varies) |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes | No |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | No |
| Platforms | Python, TypeScript, Go, Java, Kotlin | Web, desktop, mobile |
| Languages | Python, TypeScript, Go, and Java | — |
| Released | 2025-04 | — |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Agent Development Kit (ADK)
FreeBest for Developers building production-grade multi-agent systems with precise control
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.