Agent Development Kit (ADK) vs Microsoft Agent Framework
These are the same kind of thing from two clouds: free, open-source code libraries for building LLM agents and multi-agent workflows. Google's ADK (Apache-2.0) leans toward Gemini and Google Cloud; Microsoft Agent Framework (MIT) is the successor to Semantic Kernel and AutoGen and leans toward Azure and Foundry. Both run anywhere and talk to other vendors' models, so the deciding factor is usually your language and which cloud you already pay for.
SDK vs ADK, since people ask
An SDK like Google's google-genai package is a client: it sends a prompt to a model and hands back the reply. ADK (Agent Development Kit) sits on top of it (google-genai is a core dependency of the Python package) and adds the agent parts: tools, sessions and memory, multi-agent composition, a local dev UI, evaluation, and deploy commands. Microsoft's framework plays the same role above its model clients.
Languages
ADK lists Python, TypeScript, Go, Java and Kotlin, each in its own repo. Python needs 3.11 or newer and installs with pip install google-adk. ADK 2.0 added graph workflows, and the TypeScript 2.0 release is marked GA.
Microsoft Agent Framework reached 1.0 for .NET and Python on 3 April 2026, with stable APIs for agents, middleware, memory, workflows and the sequential, concurrent, handoff, group chat and Magentic-One orchestrations. A Go version exists but is still in public preview. If your team writes C#, this is the one with a first-class answer; ADK has no .NET version.
Models and where it runs
ADK says it's optimized for Gemini, but its docs cover Claude, OpenAI, Ollama, vLLM and LiteLLM. You can deploy it to Docker, Cloud Run, GKE or Google's Agent Runtime, or run it on your own servers.
Microsoft's 1.0 post lists connectors for Foundry, Azure OpenAI, OpenAI, Anthropic, Amazon Bedrock, Gemini and Ollama. Its quickstarts assume a Foundry project and Azure credentials, and the Foundry hosted-agent pieces were still marked preview at 1.0. Both support MCP tools. ADK documents A2A quickstarts in four languages; Microsoft's post said A2A 1.0 support was coming soon.
If you're moving off Semantic Kernel or AutoGen, Microsoft publishes migration guides for both, which makes it the obvious path.
Agent Development Kit (ADK): Pick ADK if you're on Google Cloud or want Gemini as the default, and your team writes Python, TypeScript, Go, Java or Kotlin.
Microsoft Agent Framework: Pick Microsoft Agent Framework if you write C# or Python on Azure, or you're migrating existing Semantic Kernel or AutoGen code.
Facts checked Oct 18, 2026 against 6 sources
Which one should you try?
Agent Development Kit (ADK)
FreeBest for Developers building production-grade multi-agent systems with precise control
Microsoft Agent Framework
FreeBest for Teams building production multi-agent systems with enterprise governance requirements
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Agent Development Kit (ADK)
ADK is the open-source agent development framework that lets you build, debug, and deploy reliable AI agents at enterprise scale.

Microsoft Agent Framework
A framework for building, orchestrating and deploying AI agents and multi-agent workflows with support for Python and .NET.
| Attribute | Agent Development Kit (ADK) | Microsoft Agent Framework |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free | Free |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | Yes |
| Platforms | Python, TypeScript, Go, Java, Kotlin | Python, .NET (1.0 stable); Go (public preview) |
| Languages | Python, TypeScript, Go, and Java | Python, C# (.NET) |
| Released | 2025-04 | 2025-10 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Agent Development Kit (ADK)
FreeBest for Developers building production-grade multi-agent systems with precise control
Microsoft Agent Framework
FreeBest for Teams building production multi-agent systems with enterprise governance requirements
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.