Agent Development Kit (ADK) vs Grok
Agent Development Kit (ADK) is free, while Grok has a free plan plus paid upgrades. Agent Development Kit (ADK) is open source and Grok is not. You can run Agent Development Kit (ADK) on your own machine or server; Grok is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
Agent Development Kit (ADK)
FreeBest for Developers building production-grade multi-agent systems with precise control
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Agent Development Kit (ADK)
ADK is the open-source agent development framework that lets you build, debug, and deploy reliable AI agents at enterprise scale.

Grok
Grok is a large language model trained by X.AI that integrates live data from X (formerly Twitter) to answer questions with current context — a meaningful differentiator in a market where most LLMs have knowledge cutoffs. It handles text analysis tasks across languages and connects to X's API, making it useful for monitoring social sentiment or market chatter in real time. The freemium model lets you experiment at no cost, but the free tier is genuinely limited; meaningful API access requires a paid subscription starting around $20/month for the Grok API, or bundled access via X Premium subscriptions. The catch: it remains less widely adopted and benchmarked than OpenAI or Anthropic offerings, so enterprise reliability data is still thin.
| Attribute | Agent Development Kit (ADK) | Grok |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free | Freemium |
| Price | — | $168/mo |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Apr 10, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes | No |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | No |
| Platforms | Python, TypeScript, Go, Java, Kotlin | Web, API |
| Languages | Python, TypeScript, Go, and Java | 90+ languages |
| Released | 2025-04 | 2023-11 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Agent Development Kit (ADK)
FreeBest for Developers building production-grade multi-agent systems with precise control
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.