LocalCode vs Tabby
Which one should you try?
Tabby
FreeBest for Teams requiring on-premises deployment and data sovereignty
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

LocalCode
Type what you want, get a suggested command, approve it, and it runs — no API key, no network request, no telemetry. All inference runs on Apple Silicon through the Foundation Models framework, which means your file paths, hostnames, and search terms never travel anywhere. The workflow is strictly one-shot: one prompt, one command suggestion, one approval gate. There is no session memory, no chaining, and no multi-step automation. Teams that want anything beyond single-command suggestions will hit the ceiling of what this proof-of-concept was designed to do.

Tabby
Open-source, self-hosted AI coding assistant with code completion, chat, and agentic automation.
| Attribute | LocalCode | Tabby |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free | Free |
| Price | — | Community free (up to 5 users); Team $19/user/mo (up to 50 users); Enterprise custom |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Oct 19, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes | Yes |
| Has API | No | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | Yes |
| Platforms | Apple Silicon Mac, macOS 26+ | Linux, macOS, Windows (via Docker); Cloud IDEs; AWS, GCP, Azure |
| Languages | — | All (language-agnostic; supports any language supported by underlying LLM) |
| Released | — | 2023 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Tabby
FreeBest for Teams requiring on-premises deployment and data sovereignty
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.