Blackbox AI vs LocalCode
These barely overlap. Blackbox AI is a San Francisco company selling hosted model access and coding agents, now pitched mostly at enterprises, with a privacy story built on encryption and contracts. LocalCode is a small MIT-licensed experiment that turns plain English into one shell command using the model built into macOS, so nothing leaves the Mac at all. If privacy brought you here, the difference is that LocalCode never sends anything, while Blackbox sends your prompts and promises to protect them.
That encryption sentence
The line people search for (one inference path, encrypted device to model, customer-managed keys, zero retention, "not even Blackbox can read") is Blackbox's own marketing. Its homepage says prompts are encrypted before they leave your machine and decrypted only where the model runs, and that the proxy, host and operator never hold the key. The pricing page is more careful: zero data retention is contractual, with a DPA, on the Enterprise plan, and is enforced through provider terms and per-request flags "where supported". Customer-managed keys are mentioned only for dedicated deployments, with no detail on how they work. None of those pages links to a third-party audit, so treat it as a vendor claim you'd verify in a contract.
The company is Blackbox AI Technologies Inc., 535 Mission Street, San Francisco, per its pricing page.
What you actually install
Blackbox's CLI installs from npm on macOS, Linux or Windows (Node 20+). Its multi-agent mode sends one task to Blackbox, Claude Code, Codex, Gemini and others in separate Git worktrees, and a "Chairman" model picks the best result. The public pricing page now shows only a custom-priced Enterprise plan plus per-token model rates; it doesn't list the individual monthly plans.
LocalCode needs an Apple Silicon Mac on macOS 26 or later, Xcode 26 to build its Swift helper, plus Bun and Node. It plugs Apple's on-device Foundation Models into OpenCode as a provider: you describe a task, get a suggested command, and approve it before it runs. The README calls it a proof of concept. It has 8 stars, a v0.0.1-alpha release, and its last commit was 14 June 2026.
Blackbox AI: Pick Blackbox AI if your company wants agents and many hosted models behind one endpoint, and will negotiate retention and key terms in an Enterprise contract.
LocalCode: Pick LocalCode if you have an Apple Silicon Mac on macOS 26 and want help remembering shell commands with zero network traffic, and you're fine with alpha software.
Facts checked Oct 18, 2026 against 5 sources
Which one should you try?
Blackbox AI
FreemiumBest for Developers seeking multi-model access at competitive pricing
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Blackbox AI
The platform routes requests through Claude, Codex, Grok, and its own models behind one encrypted endpoint, so you're not juggling separate subscriptions or API keys when you need to swap models mid-project. The Chairman multi-agent workflow runs parallel agents — refactor, test-gen, deploy, review — then scores and merges their outputs without you in the loop for every handoff. That architecture holds well for greenfield tasks and legacy modernization where the scope is well-defined. Where it gets unsteady is on tasks requiring judgment calls mid-execution: agents push forward, and catching a wrong turn in a 47-file refactor after the PR is staged costs more time than the automation saved.

LocalCode
Type what you want, get a suggested command, approve it, and it runs — no API key, no network request, no telemetry. All inference runs on Apple Silicon through the Foundation Models framework, which means your file paths, hostnames, and search terms never travel anywhere. The workflow is strictly one-shot: one prompt, one command suggestion, one approval gate. There is no session memory, no chaining, and no multi-step automation. Teams that want anything beyond single-command suggestions will hit the ceiling of what this proof-of-concept was designed to do.
| Attribute | Blackbox AI | LocalCode |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | $10/month | — |
| Pricing checked | Jun 11, 2026 | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | No |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | VS Code, JetBrains (PyCharm, IntelliJ), proprietary IDE, CLI, browser extension, iOS, Android, web interface, Jupyter Notebooks, GitHub Codespaces | Apple Silicon Mac, macOS 26+ |
| Released | 2019 | — |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Blackbox AI
FreemiumBest for Developers seeking multi-model access at competitive pricing
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.