Claude Code vs Tabby
Claude Code is Anthropic's agent that edits a repository, runs commands and opens pull requests, using Claude models hosted by Anthropic or a cloud provider. Tabby is an open-source coding assistant (completion, chat, an answer engine over your repos) that you run on your own server with your own GPU, so code never has to leave your network. If you want an agent doing multi-file work, it's Claude Code. If the rule is that nothing goes to an outside model, it's Tabby.
Where the model runs
Claude Code runs on your machine (terminal on macOS, Linux and Windows, plus VS Code, JetBrains, a desktop app and the web), but the thinking happens on Claude models. You reach them through a Claude subscription, an Anthropic Console key, or Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud or Microsoft Foundry. There's no supported way to point it at a local model, and its license is Anthropic's commercial terms, not open source.
Tabby is a self-contained server: the README says it needs no separate database or cloud service, and the quick start is a Docker command with an NVIDIA GPU. Plugins cover VS Code, Neovim, IntelliJ and the other JetBrains IDEs, and Eclipse. The code is Apache 2.0, except an ee/ folder under its own license. The last tagged Tabby release on GitHub is v0.30 from July 2025, though the repo is still active. TabbyML's newer agent, Pochi, is a separate Apache 2.0 VS Code extension where you bring your own model key.
Price for a small team
Claude Code comes with Claude Pro at $20 a month ($17 a month billed yearly), Max from $100, or Team seats at $25 a month ($20 yearly). It isn't on the free plan.
Tabby's Community edition is free for up to 5 users. Team is $19 per user a month for up to 50 users and adds the code browser, usage reports and email support; Enterprise is custom and adds SSO. The real cost of Tabby is the GPU box and someone to keep it running.
If you meant the Tabby terminal
There's also an unrelated MIT-licensed terminal emulator called Tabby (formerly Terminus) for Windows, macOS and Linux. Claude Code's CLI runs inside any terminal, so you can use the two together.
Claude Code: Pick Claude Code if you want an agent that plans and makes changes across a repo, runs your tests and commits, and you're fine with prompts going to Claude models.
Tabby: Pick Tabby if your code can't leave your own hardware and you have a GPU server to run completion and chat for up to five people free, or $19 a seat after that.
Facts checked Oct 18, 2026 against 10 sources
- code.claude.com/docs/en/overview
- code.claude.com/docs/en/third-party-integrations
- github.com/anthropics/claude-code/blob/main/LICENSE.md
- claude.com/pricing
- raw.githubusercontent.com/TabbyML/tabby/main/LICENSE
- github.com/TabbyML/tabby
- tabbyml.com/
- tabbyml.com/pricing
- github.com/TabbyML/pochi
- github.com/Eugeny/tabby
Which one should you try?
Claude Code
PaidBest for Developers comfortable reviewing code and commands
Tabby
FreeBest for Teams requiring on-premises deployment and data sovereignty
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Claude Code
Anthropic's coding agent for editing repositories, running commands and tests, and reviewing changes.

Tabby
Open-source, self-hosted AI coding assistant with code completion, chat, and agentic automation.
| Attribute | Claude Code | Tabby |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Paid | Free |
| Price | Pro US$20/month or US$200/year billed upfront; API/provider usage billed separately | Community free (up to 5 users); Team $19/user/mo (up to 50 users); Enterprise custom |
| Pricing checked | Oct 17, 2026 | Oct 19, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, web | Linux, macOS, Windows (via Docker); Cloud IDEs; AWS, GCP, Azure |
| Languages | — | All (language-agnostic; supports any language supported by underlying LLM) |
| Released | — | 2023 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Claude Code
PaidBest for Developers comfortable reviewing code and commands
Tabby
FreeBest for Teams requiring on-premises deployment and data sovereignty
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.