GitHub Copilot vs LocalCode
GitHub Copilot has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while LocalCode is free. LocalCode is open source and GitHub Copilot is not. You can run LocalCode on your own machine or server; GitHub Copilot is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
GitHub Copilot
FreemiumBest for Developers and teams already using GitHub for issues and pull requests
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.
GitHub Copilot
GitHub's AI coding assistant for IDEs, GitHub.com and the CLI. Free plan; Pro $10/month; Business $19 per seat per month.

LocalCode
Type what you want, get a suggested command, approve it, and it runs — no API key, no network request, no telemetry. All inference runs on Apple Silicon through the Foundation Models framework, which means your file paths, hostnames, and search terms never travel anywhere. The workflow is strictly one-shot: one prompt, one command suggestion, one approval gate. There is no session memory, no chaining, and no multi-step automation. Teams that want anything beyond single-command suggestions will hit the ceiling of what this proof-of-concept was designed to do.
| Attribute | GitHub Copilot | LocalCode |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | Free plan; Pro $10/month; Pro+ $39/month; Business $19/seat/month | — |
| Pricing checked | Oct 17, 2026 | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | Not stated | No |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains IDEs, Eclipse, Xcode, Neovim, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, Windows Terminal, Copilot CLI | Apple Silicon Mac, macOS 26+ |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
GitHub Copilot
FreemiumBest for Developers and teams already using GitHub for issues and pull requests
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.