Fireflies.ai vs Plaud NotePin S
Fireflies is software that records and transcribes online meetings, usually by sending a notetaker bot into Zoom, Meet or Teams. The Plaud NotePin S is a $179 wearable recorder for conversations that happen in a room, with Plaud's app doing the transcription and summaries afterwards. If most of your meetings are video calls, Fireflies covers them without buying hardware. If they happen across a desk, in a clinic or on a site visit, the NotePin S is the better fit.
Where your conversations happen
Fireflies joins Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and about ten other platforms as a bot. Its pricing page also lists a Chrome extension that records without the bot, and the mobile app records in-person meetings from your phone.
The NotePin S is a pin you long-press to start recording, with a clip, lanyard, wristband and magnetic pin in the box. Plaud's own comparison table gives it two microphones, a pickup range of about 9.8 feet, up to 20 hours of continuous recording and 64 GB of storage. The same table lists it as in-person only: the phone-call recording mode belongs to the card-shaped Plaud Note and Note Pro, not the pin. For video calls, Plaud has a separate Plaud Desktop app (beta, Windows and macOS) that captures meeting audio without a bot.
First-year cost for one person
Plaud: the NotePin S is $179 once. The free Starter plan gives 300 transcription minutes a month, which is five hours. Pro is $17.99 a month or $99.99 a year for 1,200 minutes, and Unlimited is $29.99 a month or $239.99 a year. A pin plus a year of Pro comes to $278.99.
Fireflies: the Free plan transcribes without a cap but limits AI summaries and stores only 400 minutes per team. Pro is $18 a month, or $10 a month billed annually, with 8,000 minutes of storage per seat. Business is $29 ($19 annually) and Enterprise is $39 per seat, annual only. A year of Pro billed annually is $120, with nothing to wear or charge.
Regulated work
Plaud's plan page lists ISO 27001, ISO 27701, GDPR, SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliance. Fireflies puts HIPAA compliance, private storage and custom data retention on its Enterprise plan. Neither one can be self-hosted, so audio goes to the vendor's cloud either way.
Fireflies.ai: Pick Fireflies if your meetings are mostly on Zoom, Meet or Teams and you want every call transcribed and searchable without buying a device.
Plaud NotePin S: Pick the NotePin S if your important conversations are face to face and you want a wearable recorder that doesn't depend on your phone being out.
Which one should you try?
Plaud NotePin S
PaidBest for Professionals in frequent meetings (executives, consultants, lawyers, doctors)
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Fireflies.ai
Fireflies joins meetings automatically as a bot participant, transcribes audio in real time, and generates summaries organized around topics, action items, and speaker breakdowns. The search layer is where it earns its place on sales and distributed teams: you can query across every recorded call in the workspace, not just the last one. The ceiling appears in compliance-heavy environments — Fireflies is cloud-only, so organizations with data residency mandates or on-premise requirements have no self-hosting path. Teams that hit that wall move to vendors with on-premise deployment options. For everyone else, the API lets you pull transcripts and metadata into your CRM or data warehouse.

Plaud NotePin S
Plaud ships as a credit-card-thin device that attaches to the back of a phone via magnet or sits on a desk, recording audio and sending it to Plaud's cloud for transcription and AI summarization. The workflow is one button: press record, pocket the device, review the structured summary later. This works cleanly for one-on-one meetings, calls, and lectures where a single audio source dominates. The ceiling appears in multi-speaker boardrooms and noisy environments — community reports flag speaker-diarization accuracy dropping when voices overlap or room acoustics are poor. Teams logging high call volumes exhaust the free tier's monthly minute cap quickly, at which point continued use requires a paid subscription.
| Attribute | Fireflies.ai | Plaud NotePin S |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Paid |
| Price | Free; Pro $18/mo ($10/mo billed annually); Business $29/mo ($19/mo annually); Enterprise $39/mo annual only | $179.00 |
| Pricing checked | Oct 19, 2026 | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | No |
| Platforms | Web, Chrome Extension, Desktop App (Windows/Mac), Mobile App (iOS/Android) | iOS, Android, Mac, Windows (via Plaud Desktop); cloud-accessible via Web; onboard recording on hardware |
| Released | — | 2023-06 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Plaud NotePin S
PaidBest for Professionals in frequent meetings (executives, consultants, lawyers, doctors)
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.