NoteGPT vs Plaud NotePin S
NoteGPT has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while Plaud NotePin S is paid.
Which one should you try?
NoteGPT
FreemiumBest for Students capturing and organizing lecture notes
Plaud NotePin S
PaidBest for Professionals in frequent meetings (executives, consultants, lawyers, doctors)
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

NoteGPT
The core workflow is capture-then-process: record live audio on mobile, paste a YouTube URL, or upload a PDF, and NoteGPT returns a transcript, AI summary, and exportable study materials. The 100-plus language support makes it genuinely useful for international students following lectures in a second language — the transcript becomes a reading artifact they can pace through later. The free tier caps at 15 summaries per month, which covers light use but hits a wall during finals season when a student needs to process a semester's worth of recordings in a week. There is no API and no self-hosted option, so teams needing to pipe transcripts into a downstream system have to rely on PDF and text exports alone.

Plaud NotePin S
Plaud ships as a credit-card-thin device that attaches to the back of a phone via magnet or sits on a desk, recording audio and sending it to Plaud's cloud for transcription and AI summarization. The workflow is one button: press record, pocket the device, review the structured summary later. This works cleanly for one-on-one meetings, calls, and lectures where a single audio source dominates. The ceiling appears in multi-speaker boardrooms and noisy environments — community reports flag speaker-diarization accuracy dropping when voices overlap or room acoustics are poor. Teams logging high call volumes exhaust the free tier's monthly minute cap quickly, at which point continued use requires a paid subscription.
| Attribute | NoteGPT | Plaud NotePin S |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Paid |
| Price | $9/mo | $179.00 |
| Pricing checked | Jun 11, 2026 | Jun 11, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | No | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | No |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web, Chrome Extension | iOS, Android, Mac, Windows (via Plaud Desktop); cloud-accessible via Web; onboard recording on hardware |
| Released | 2023 | 2023-06 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
NoteGPT
FreemiumBest for Students capturing and organizing lecture notes
Plaud NotePin S
PaidBest for Professionals in frequent meetings (executives, consultants, lawyers, doctors)
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.