Blackbox AI vs Codeep
Blackbox AI has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while Codeep is free. Codeep is open source and Blackbox AI is not. You can run Codeep on your own machine or server; Blackbox AI is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
Blackbox AI
FreemiumBest for Developers seeking multi-model access at competitive pricing
Codeep
FreeBest for Terminal-first developers who prefer CLI over IDE agents
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Blackbox AI
The platform routes requests through Claude, Codex, Grok, and its own models behind one encrypted endpoint, so you're not juggling separate subscriptions or API keys when you need to swap models mid-project. The Chairman multi-agent workflow runs parallel agents — refactor, test-gen, deploy, review — then scores and merges their outputs without you in the loop for every handoff. That architecture holds well for greenfield tasks and legacy modernization where the scope is well-defined. Where it gets unsteady is on tasks requiring judgment calls mid-execution: agents push forward, and catching a wrong turn in a 47-file refactor after the PR is staged costs more time than the automation saved.

Codeep
Codeep is an open-source, terminal-native autonomous agent that reads your project structure, plans a sequence of steps, edits files, runs shell commands, and checks its own output against your build and test suite before declaring done. You describe the goal; it handles the steps. The self-verification loop — where it catches a broken typecheck and fixes it without prompting — is the part that separates it from a glorified shell wrapper. The ceiling appears on projects where the agent's context window fills before it has mapped the full dependency graph; community reports suggest large monorepos with deep cross-module dependencies push that limit faster than single-service repos. At that point, teams either scope tasks more tightly or reach for a dedicated sub-agent delegation pattern.
| Attribute | Blackbox AI | Codeep |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | $10/month | — |
| Pricing checked | Jun 11, 2026 | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | VS Code, JetBrains (PyCharm, IntelliJ), proprietary IDE, CLI, browser extension, iOS, Android, web interface, Jupyter Notebooks, GitHub Codespaces | macOS, Linux, Windows (WSL) |
| Released | 2019 | 2026-05-30 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Blackbox AI
FreemiumBest for Developers seeking multi-model access at competitive pricing
Codeep
FreeBest for Terminal-first developers who prefer CLI over IDE agents
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.