Grammarly AI vs Turnitin Report
Grammarly AI has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while Turnitin Report is paid.
Which one should you try?
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Grammarly AI
Grammarly sits in your browser and writing apps, flagging mistakes as you type—grammar, spelling, tone, clarity. It's useful if you write emails, documents, or social posts and want a second pair of eyes without leaving your workflow. The free tier covers basics; Premium ($12/month) adds tone detection and advanced rewrites. The catch: the free version is genuinely limited, and Premium's AI-powered suggestions sometimes miss context or feel prescriptive. It works best for high-stakes writing where accuracy matters more than speed.

Turnitin Report
Paste your essay and the tool returns an overall AI-likeness score plus paragraph-level notes flagging sections that read as generic, repetitive, or mechanically structured. No account required. The report-style output goes further than a raw percentage — it names the specific signal types driving the score, so you know whether the problem is sentence rhythm, transition overuse, or missing specific evidence. The ceiling hits fast: there is no API, no batch processing, and no way to integrate this into an LMS or writing workflow. For a student running a single draft before submission, that is fine. For an instructor processing thirty papers, it is a bottleneck.
| Attribute | Grammarly AI | Turnitin Report |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Paid |
| Price | Pro $12/mo billed annually ($144/yr) or $30 month to month | $3.59/mo |
| Pricing checked | Oct 19, 2026 | Oct 22, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | Yes | No |
| Self-hosted option | No | No |
| Platforms | Windows, Mac, browser extensions (Chrome, Safari, Firefox, Edge), Microsoft Office, Google Docs, iPhone, iPad, Android | Web |
| Languages | 95+ languages | — |
| Released | 2009 | — |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.