firstmate vs Google Gemini
This pairing doesn't make much sense as a choice. firstmate is a free, MIT-licensed setup for running several command-line coding agents in parallel, each in its own git worktree, with one lead agent supervising them. Google Gemini is a model family and chatbot. firstmate doesn't even list Gemini's CLI among the agents it drives, For a developer, the useful decision is which agent to run under firstmate, not whether to use it instead of Gemini.
How firstmate works
You clone the repo, open a supported agent inside it (the README's example is Claude Code), and talk only to that "first mate." It starts other agents in visible tmux windows (herdr, zellij, Orca and cmux also work), gives each a separate git worktree, watches them, and hands back pull requests, approved local merges or investigation reports. The verified agents are Claude Code, Grok, Pi, Oh My Pi, Codex, OpenCode and Cursor Agent CLI. It needs macOS or Linux, Git and an authenticated GitHub CLI. There's no installer and no hosted version. firstmate itself costs nothing, but every agent in the crew bills against its own subscription or API key, so parallel runs multiply your spend.
What Gemini costs today
In the Gemini app, the free plan runs a Flash-Lite model. Google AI Plus is $4.99 a month, AI Pro is $19.99 and includes Gemini 4 Argon and 3.1 Pro, and AI Ultra starts at $99.99 (with a $199.99 tier for 20x Pro limits).
For developers, the API lists Gemini 4 Argon at $2 per million input tokens and $10 output through 30 November 2026, doubling from 1 December, and it isn't on the free tier. Gemini 3.8 Flash is $0.75 and $3.75 through the end of 2026, and the Flash and Flash-Lite models keep a free tier whose usage Google may use to improve its products. Our listing's 2M-token Gemini 1.5 Pro description is out of date.
firstmate: Pick firstmate if you already use Claude Code, Codex, Grok or a similar CLI agent and want several of them working in parallel without stepping on each other's branches.
Google Gemini: Pick Gemini if you want a chatbot or an API model from Google, from a free Flash-Lite tier up to Gemini 4 Argon on AI Pro at $19.99 a month.
Facts checked Oct 18, 2026 against 3 sources
Which one should you try?
firstmate
FreeBest for Developers managing multiple simultaneous agent tasks
Google Gemini
FreemiumBest for Enterprise deployments requiring advanced reasoning
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

firstmate
firstmate puts a single orchestrating agent — the 'first mate' — in front of you, while it spawns a crew of autonomous coding agents behind the scenes, each isolated in its own git worktree. You describe what needs doing; the crew splits the work in parallel and keeps collisions out of your main branch. The visible session backend means you can watch what each agent is doing without switching tabs. The architecture works cleanly for investigation tasks, parallel fixes, or supervised PR generation — the constraint is that there is no API surface, so anything requiring programmatic integration into an existing CI pipeline has to wire around the tool manually.

Google Gemini
The headline capability is the context window: the vendor states Gemini 1.5 Pro supports up to 2M tokens, which means you can load entire codebases or research corpora in a single pass without chunking. The mixture-of-experts architecture lets the Pro-tier models handle complex multi-step reasoning and tool use, while Flash and Flash-Lite variants absorb high-volume, cost-sensitive workloads. Multimodal input — text, image, video, audio — is native, not bolted on, so vision and audio tasks route through the same API surface. The ceiling shows up at the intersection of rate limits and latency: teams with sustained high-throughput workloads report queuing pressure on the free tier, and Pro-tier access is paid-only.
| Attribute | firstmate | Google Gemini |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free | Freemium |
| Price | Free (MIT); you pay for the coding agent it runs on | Free; AI Plus $4.99/mo; AI Pro $19.99/mo; AI Ultra from $99.99/mo |
| Pricing checked | Oct 19, 2026 | Oct 19, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes | No |
| Has API | No | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | No |
| Platforms | macOS, Linux; runs inside Claude Code, Codex, Grok, Pi, OpenCode or Cursor Agent CLI (tmux by default) | Web, Android, iOS, Windows and macOS (Gemini app); API via Google AI Studio and Vertex AI |
| Languages | — | Multilingual; Gemini 3 models have a knowledge cutoff of January 2025 |
| Released | — | 2023-12-06 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
firstmate
FreeBest for Developers managing multiple simultaneous agent tasks
Google Gemini
FreemiumBest for Enterprise deployments requiring advanced reasoning
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.