CopilotKit vs firstmate
CopilotKit has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while firstmate is free.
Which one should you try?
CopilotKit
FreemiumBest for React and Angular developers building in-app AI features
firstmate
FreeBest for Developers managing multiple simultaneous agent tasks
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

CopilotKit
The core model is a React and Angular SDK that connects your existing frontend to whatever agent backend you're already running — LangChain, CrewAI, or a custom setup — via the AG-UI protocol, a bi-directional event stream the vendor describes as 'the general-purpose connection between a user-facing application and any agentic backend.' Agents render rich UI cards, forms, and widgets inline as they work, not just text responses. Thread and state persistence is handled automatically across sessions. The friction point arrives when your deployment target isn't a web surface: Slack and Teams connections are flagged as early access, which means you're betting on a roadmap, not a shipping feature. Teams with strict approval gates before agent actions can wire those checkpoints in, but the docs describe this as a configuration responsibility rather than a built-in guardrail system.

firstmate
firstmate puts a single orchestrating agent — the 'first mate' — in front of you, while it spawns a crew of autonomous coding agents behind the scenes, each isolated in its own git worktree. You describe what needs doing; the crew splits the work in parallel and keeps collisions out of your main branch. The visible session backend means you can watch what each agent is doing without switching tabs. The architecture works cleanly for investigation tasks, parallel fixes, or supervised PR generation — the constraint is that there is no API surface, so anything requiring programmatic integration into an existing CI pipeline has to wire around the tool manually.
| Attribute | CopilotKit | firstmate |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | $39/developer/month | Free (MIT); you pay for the coding agent it runs on |
| Pricing checked | Jun 11, 2026 | Oct 19, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | No |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | Yes |
| Platforms | React, Angular, Mobile, Slack, and Teams | macOS, Linux; runs inside Claude Code, Codex, Grok, Pi, OpenCode or Cursor Agent CLI (tmux by default) |
| Released | 2023 | — |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
CopilotKit
FreemiumBest for React and Angular developers building in-app AI features
firstmate
FreeBest for Developers managing multiple simultaneous agent tasks
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.