Claude Cowork vs Google Gemini
Which one should you try?
Claude Cowork
FreemiumBest for Knowledge workers handling repetitive desktop tasks
Google Gemini
FreemiumBest for Enterprise deployments requiring advanced reasoning
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Claude Cowork
Running on Claude Opus 4.7 with a 1M context window, Cowork operates as a desktop agent that plans multi-step tasks, takes screenshots to read your actual screen, and controls mouse, keyboard, and shell commands to execute work inside an isolated VM. It handles file organization, bulk renaming, PDF data extraction, and expense tracking without needing a human to babysit each step — the vendor states it includes self-verification logic that checks its own output before reporting back. The ceiling appears when tasks require judgment calls outside a defined scope: the agent surfaces ambiguity rather than resolving it, which means complex editorial or legal review work still needs you at the keyboard. No self-hosting option exists, so teams with strict data-residency requirements are stopped before they start.

Google Gemini
The headline capability is the context window: the vendor states Gemini 1.5 Pro supports up to 2M tokens, which means you can load entire codebases or research corpora in a single pass without chunking. The mixture-of-experts architecture lets the Pro-tier models handle complex multi-step reasoning and tool use, while Flash and Flash-Lite variants absorb high-volume, cost-sensitive workloads. Multimodal input — text, image, video, audio — is native, not bolted on, so vision and audio tasks route through the same API surface. The ceiling shows up at the intersection of rate limits and latency: teams with sustained high-throughput workloads report queuing pressure on the free tier, and Pro-tier access is paid-only.
| Attribute | Claude Cowork | Google Gemini |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Price | $20/mo | Free; AI Plus $4.99/mo; AI Pro $19.99/mo; AI Ultra from $99.99/mo |
| Pricing checked | Jun 11, 2026 | Oct 19, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | No |
| Platforms | macOS, Windows | Web, Android, iOS, Windows and macOS (Gemini app); API via Google AI Studio and Vertex AI |
| Languages | — | Multilingual; Gemini 3 models have a knowledge cutoff of January 2025 |
| Released | 2026-01-12 | 2023-12-06 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Claude Cowork
FreemiumBest for Knowledge workers handling repetitive desktop tasks
Google Gemini
FreemiumBest for Enterprise deployments requiring advanced reasoning
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.