CopilotKit vs Hermes Desktop
CopilotKit has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while Hermes Desktop is free.
Which one should you try?
CopilotKit
FreemiumBest for React and Angular developers building in-app AI features
Hermes Desktop
FreeBest for Power users running Hermes Agent locally who need more than CLI access
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

CopilotKit
The core model is a React and Angular SDK that connects your existing frontend to whatever agent backend you're already running — LangChain, CrewAI, or a custom setup — via the AG-UI protocol, a bi-directional event stream the vendor describes as 'the general-purpose connection between a user-facing application and any agentic backend.' Agents render rich UI cards, forms, and widgets inline as they work, not just text responses. Thread and state persistence is handled automatically across sessions. The friction point arrives when your deployment target isn't a web surface: Slack and Teams connections are flagged as early access, which means you're betting on a roadmap, not a shipping feature. Teams with strict approval gates before agent actions can wire those checkpoints in, but the docs describe this as a configuration responsibility rather than a built-in guardrail system.

Hermes Desktop
Hermes Studio is an open-source, self-hosted dashboard that wraps Hermes Agent in a control plane: task scheduling, multi-agent coordination, memory and skill management, cost tracking, and an approval gate for actions you don't want running unsupervised. The vendor describes it as MIT-licensed with no paid tiers, which means every feature ships without a paywall. The architecture assumes you are already running Hermes Agent locally — Hermes Studio is the interface, not the runtime. Teams that need cloud-hosted infrastructure or agents that run without a local Hermes Agent install will hit that wall immediately.
| Attribute | CopilotKit | Hermes Desktop |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | $39/developer/month | — |
| Pricing checked | Jun 11, 2026 | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | Yes |
| Platforms | React, Angular, Mobile, Slack, and Teams | Web (self-hosted, installable as a PWA); Docker Compose; Electron desktop app planned, not shipped |
| Released | 2023 | 2026-04 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
CopilotKit
FreemiumBest for React and Angular developers building in-app AI features
Hermes Desktop
FreeBest for Power users running Hermes Agent locally who need more than CLI access
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.