Claude Cowork vs Mistral
Claude Cowork has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while Mistral is free. Mistral is open source and Claude Cowork is not. You can run Mistral on your own machine or server; Claude Cowork is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
Claude Cowork
FreemiumBest for Knowledge workers handling repetitive desktop tasks
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Claude Cowork
Running on Claude Opus 4.7 with a 1M context window, Cowork operates as a desktop agent that plans multi-step tasks, takes screenshots to read your actual screen, and controls mouse, keyboard, and shell commands to execute work inside an isolated VM. It handles file organization, bulk renaming, PDF data extraction, and expense tracking without needing a human to babysit each step — the vendor states it includes self-verification logic that checks its own output before reporting back. The ceiling appears when tasks require judgment calls outside a defined scope: the agent surfaces ambiguity rather than resolving it, which means complex editorial or legal review work still needs you at the keyboard. No self-hosting option exists, so teams with strict data-residency requirements are stopped before they start.

Mistral
Mistral offers a family of large language models ranging from the lightweight Mistral 7B to the more capable Mistral Large, accessible both as open-source downloads and via paid API. The company positions itself as the cost-conscious alternative to ChatGPT and Claude, with a free tier covering basic use cases but throttled requests that frustrate serious users. Pricing for the API starts around $0.14 per million input tokens—roughly one-third OpenAI's rate—making it genuinely cheap at scale. The catch: public API documentation remains sparse, and the free tier's limitations mean you'll likely hit a paywall faster than expected.
| Attribute | Claude Cowork | Mistral |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | $20/mo | Free |
| Pricing checked | Jun 11, 2026 | Apr 10, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | macOS, Windows | Web, API |
| Languages | — | 100+ languages |
| Released | 2026-01-12 | 2023-09 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Claude Cowork
FreemiumBest for Knowledge workers handling repetitive desktop tasks
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.