Claude Code vs Qwen
Claude Code is a coding agent and Qwen is a family of models, so the fair match-up is Claude Code against Qwen Code, Alibaba's open-source terminal agent. Claude Code is proprietary and comes with a Claude subscription; Qwen Code is Apache-2.0 and runs on whatever model you give it. And yes, you can point Claude Code at Qwen models through Alibaba's Anthropic-compatible endpoint, though Anthropic doesn't support that setup.
Claude Code or Qwen Code
Claude Code is included in every paid Claude plan: Pro is $20 a month ($17 a month billed annually, $200 up front) and Max starts at $100. It isn't on the free plan, and you can use API billing instead. Its license reserves all rights to Anthropic.
Qwen Code began as a fork of Google's Gemini CLI v0.8.2 and has been developed independently since v0.1. It installs with a script, npm (Node.js 22 or newer) or Homebrew, and runs in the terminal, as a desktop app, and in VS Code, Zed and JetBrains. You pick the model with /auth: OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini, Qwen's own API, or a local model through Ollama or vLLM. On "qwen code pricing": the tool is free, but the free Qwen OAuth login is gone. Qwen's maintainers cut it from 1,000 to 100 requests a day and announced its closure for 15 April 2026, so you now pay a model provider or run a model yourself.
Running Claude Code on Qwen models
Alibaba's Model Studio documents this. You put ANTHROPIC_BASE_URL and ANTHROPIC_AUTH_TOKEN in ~/.claude/settings.json and map Claude Code's model roles to Qwen models: qwen3.7-plus on the Coding Plan endpoint, or qwen3.7-max on pay-as-you-go. The Coding Plan Pro tier is $50 a month for up to 90,000 requests (6,000 per five hours), and it also works in Qwen Code, OpenCode and other agents; the cheaper Lite tier is closed.
The catch is on Anthropic's side. Its gateway docs say it doesn't support routing Claude Code to non-Claude models, so when a new Claude Code feature misbehaves on Qwen, nobody owes you a fix.
Qwen on your own hardware
Many Qwen models are open weights. Qwen3.8-27B, for example, is Apache-2.0 on Hugging Face with a 262,144-token native context. That's the route if code can't leave your machines, with Qwen Code (or Claude Code via a local Anthropic-compatible server) on top.
Claude Code: Pick Claude Code if you want Anthropic's agent with Claude models on a flat Pro or Max subscription and official support for the whole setup.
Qwen: Pick Qwen (through Qwen Code or Alibaba's Coding Plan) if you want an open-source agent, open-weight models you can self-host, or a cheaper per-request plan.
Facts checked Oct 18, 2026 against 8 sources
Which one should you try?
Claude Code
PaidBest for Developers comfortable reviewing code and commands
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Claude Code
Anthropic's coding agent for editing repositories, running commands and tests, and reviewing changes.

Qwen
Qwen covers text generation, coding assistance, multimodal understanding, and reasoning tasks across a range of model sizes, all under Apache-2.0 licensing, which means you can run it locally, fine-tune it, and ship it in a product without negotiating an enterprise agreement. The architecture is a Transformer decoder, so the fine-tuning toolchain your team already knows applies directly. Multilingual capability is a documented design goal, not a side effect, making it a practical choice for teams building outside English-first markets. The Qwen Studio interface offers free access for experimentation, while production-scale API usage routes through Alibaba Cloud — meaning your infrastructure story depends on which cloud you already operate in. Teams needing sovereign deployment or cost-controlled inference can self-host, but that path requires operational capacity the vendor does not manage for you.
| Attribute | Claude Code | Qwen |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Paid | Freemium |
| Price | Pro US$20/month or US$200/year billed upfront; API/provider usage billed separately | — |
| Pricing checked | Oct 17, 2026 | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, web | Hugging Face, GitHub, ModelScope |
| Released | — | 2023 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Claude Code
PaidBest for Developers comfortable reviewing code and commands
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.