Laper vs Skald Scribe
Which one should you try?
Laper
FreemiumBest for Professional screenwriters requiring industry-standard formatting and AI-assisted writing
Skald Scribe
FreemiumBest for Indie authors needing structured multi-chapter output
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Laper
The vendor describes Laper as an AI assistant that handles formatting so writers can focus on craft — covering US, UK, and French screenplay conventions and supporting real-time collaborative editing for writers' rooms. The AI layer is positioned as structural feedback and suggestion, not autonomous generation, which means you stay in the loop on every story decision. Where the page is thin: there is precious little detail on how deep the structural analysis actually goes, what the plot hole detection catches versus misses, or how the storyboarding integration behaves under a full pre-production asset load. No API is available, so any studio pipeline that needs to push or pull script data programmatically hits a dead end immediately.

Skald Scribe
The vendor describes six named agents that divide the labor of writing a novel: planning, drafting, inspecting, editing, and archiving each chapter into a permanent ledger of plot and character state. That ledger is the core differentiator — subsequent agents read it before generating anything, so canon accumulates rather than drifts. The system is built for writers who already hold a Claude or Gemini API key and want structured multi-chapter output without manually pasting context back in every session. Where it strains: authors whose creative process depends on spontaneous structural pivots will find the planning layer resistant, and any workflow requiring deep integration with external publishing tools hits a wall immediately — the vendor page describes no API access whatsoever.
| Attribute | Laper | Skald Scribe |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Price | $20/mo | $15/month |
| Pricing checked | Jun 11, 2026 | Oct 20, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | No | No |
| Self-hosted option | No | No |
| Platforms | Web, macOS, Windows | Web |
| Released | 2025-09 | — |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Laper
FreemiumBest for Professional screenwriters requiring industry-standard formatting and AI-assisted writing
Skald Scribe
FreemiumBest for Indie authors needing structured multi-chapter output
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.