Khala vs SoMatic
Khala has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while SoMatic is free. SoMatic is open source and Khala is not. You can run SoMatic on your own machine or server; Khala is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Khala
The vendor describes Khala as an MCP-compatible messaging layer that lets one LLM session address another by name and deliver full context — plan, thread, or artifact — without human relay. You register an inbox for each session, paste the MCP connector once, and instruct your LLM to send. The receiving session reads its inbox and picks up where the sender stopped. This holds together well for linear two-session pipelines like plan-then-build. The architecture is passive: Khala carries messages, it does not coordinate sequencing or retry failed handoffs on its own.

SoMatic
The core workflow is a CLI command that takes a screenshot, runs element detection locally, and returns numbered marks with coordinates as JSON — so agents target elements by ID, not by fragile pixel hunts. Every action returns JSON, which means downstream agents can chain steps without parsing unstructured output. The self-hosted, MIT-licensed model runs on your own hardware, so no screenshot data leaves the machine. The wall appears with non-standard or highly dynamic UIs where YOLO detection misses elements or mislabels them — teams handling those cases add a fallback coordinate layer manually. At this GitHub star count, the community size is small, which means debugging edge cases happens in the codebase, not a forum.
| Attribute | Khala | SoMatic |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | $3.99/mo after beta | — |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | No | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | — | Linux, macOS, Windows (via npm + Python runtime) |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.