Khala vs Relay
Which one should you try?
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Khala
The vendor describes Khala as an MCP-compatible messaging layer that lets one LLM session address another by name and deliver full context — plan, thread, or artifact — without human relay. You register an inbox for each session, paste the MCP connector once, and instruct your LLM to send. The receiving session reads its inbox and picks up where the sender stopped. This holds together well for linear two-session pipelines like plan-then-build. The architecture is passive: Khala carries messages, it does not coordinate sequencing or retry failed handoffs on its own.

Relay
Relay.app lets you describe a workflow in plain language, then generates a visual step sequence you can edit manually or by prompting again. The core model is fixed-sequence automation — triggers, steps, branches, loops — with AI inserted at specific points for extraction, summarization, or creation, not for deciding what to do next. Approval gates are built in, not bolted on, so a finance director can sign off on an expense before it routes to payment. Reusable 'Sequences' let teams standardize common patterns like lead enrichment or onboarding and propagate updates across every workflow at once. The ceiling appears when logic grows complex: deep conditional branching across many steps pushes against what the visual canvas expresses cleanly.
| Attribute | Khala | Relay |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Price | $3.99/mo after beta | $19/mo |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Jun 11, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | No | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | No |
| Platforms | — | Web-based SaaS (cloud only) |
| Released | — | 2021 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.