Emergent vs Memex
Emergent has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while Memex is free. Memex is open source and Emergent is not. You can run Memex on your own machine or server; Emergent is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Emergent
The platform's agent loop handles the full stack: frontend, backend logic, database connections, and one-click deployment, without you writing or reviewing code between steps. That autonomy is the value proposition and the risk — you describe what you want, the agents build it, and the output is a running application rather than a component library you still have to wire together. For solo founders validating a concept over a weekend, that speed is the entire point. The ceiling appears when the application grows: custom agent creation is locked to paid-only tiers, context window depth is limited on lower plans, and there is no self-hosted option, so your production data lives on Emergent's infrastructure whether you want that or not. Teams that hit compliance requirements or need granular control over the build process tend to reach for a code-first alternative before the second production release.

Memex
Orbit runs as a local harness that pulls one dependency-ordered task at a time, hands it to whichever coding agent you configure, then runs your tests, lint, and type checks before recording the result. Every run writes structured JSON artifacts — what the agent returned, how the output scored against a rubric, and a human-readable recommendation to accept, iterate, or stop. The audit trail is durable and replayable without an API key, which makes it usable in air-gapped environments. The tooling is intentionally minimal, so teams building on top of it will write their own adapter glue for agents that do not speak the expected JSON contract. Orbit does not manage the agent itself — it manages what the agent must prove.
| Attribute | Emergent | Memex |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | $20/mo | — |
| Pricing checked | Jun 11, 2026 | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | No |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Web-based, Browser IDE | Linux, macOS, Python 3.7+ |
| Released | 2025-06 | — |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.