Bolt.new vs Emergent
Which one should you try?
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Bolt.new
Built by StackBlitz, Bolt lets you describe a web app in plain language and get a running prototype with hosting, a database, and authentication included — no separate accounts required. The vendor states model routing picks the right LLM for each task, so you're not manually switching between agents. Design system imports from Figma or component libraries like Shadcn and Material UI let teams build on-brand without starting from scratch. The ceiling appears when projects grow past prototype fidelity: complex business logic, custom server-side workflows, or deep third-party integrations push you outside what a prompt-driven canvas can express. At that point, the generated code becomes the starting point for a hand-rolled codebase.

Emergent
The platform's agent loop handles the full stack: frontend, backend logic, database connections, and one-click deployment, without you writing or reviewing code between steps. That autonomy is the value proposition and the risk — you describe what you want, the agents build it, and the output is a running application rather than a component library you still have to wire together. For solo founders validating a concept over a weekend, that speed is the entire point. The ceiling appears when the application grows: custom agent creation is locked to paid-only tiers, context window depth is limited on lower plans, and there is no self-hosted option, so your production data lives on Emergent's infrastructure whether you want that or not. Teams that hit compliance requirements or need granular control over the build process tend to reach for a code-first alternative before the second production release.
| Attribute | Bolt.new | Emergent |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Price | $25/mo | $20/mo |
| Pricing checked | Jul 1, 2026 | Jun 11, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | No | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | No |
| Platforms | — | Web-based, Browser IDE |
| Released | — | 2025-06 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.