Skip to main content
AIDiveForge AIDiveForge

Cursor vs OpenCode

Bottom line

Cursor has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while OpenCode is free. OpenCode is open source and Cursor is not. You can run OpenCode on your own machine or server; Cursor is hosted by the vendor.

Which one should you try?

Cursor

Freemium

Best for Developers who want an agent to plan and edit across a codebase

OpenCode

Free

Best for Developers who want an open-source coding agent in the terminal

Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Cursor

Cursor

AI code editor, CLI and cloud agents. Free plan; Plus $8/month uses Grok only; third-party model use starts with Premium.

OpenCode

OpenCode

OpenCode is an MIT-licensed AI coding agent for the terminal that works with the model provider you choose, including local models. We installed it and ran three agent tasks: 9 of 9 passed with Claude Opus 5.5, 3 of 9 with a 3B local model.

AttributeCursorOpenCode
PricingFreemiumFree
PriceFree; Plus $8/month (Grok models only); Premium $30/month plus third-party model usage; Teams from $30/user/monthFree (MIT). Optional Zen models pay as you go; Go $10/mo, Go Plus $40/mo
Pricing checkedOct 17, 2026Oct 19, 2026
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Open sourceNoYes
Has APIYesYes
Self-hosted optionNoYes
PlatformsDesktop app (macOS, Windows, Linux), CLI, cloud agents, Slack, GitHubTerminal, Desktop (beta macOS/Windows/Linux), IDE extension
Pros
  • One agent workflow spans the desktop editor, a CLI, Slack and GitHub pull request reviews, per Cursor's homepage.
  • The model picker offers models from several providers plus Cursor's own Composer models.
  • A documented Cloud Agents API and SDKs let teams start agents from code.
  • Passed all 9 of our agent tasks with Claude Opus 5.5.
  • Works with the provider you choose, including a local model behind an OpenAI-compatible server.
  • Open source under the MIT license.
Cons
  • Third-party models are billed separately at API list price, so costs vary with model choice.
  • Plan names and prices changed after the SpaceX acquisition; the lowest paid tier covers Grok models only.
  • The pages reviewed do not describe a self-hosted option.
  • With a 3B local model it passed 3 of 9 tasks (only the simplest one), so plan on a larger model.
  • It reaches out to models.opencode.ai and registry.npmjs.org, and downloads provider packages on first use, so offline setups need those pre-installed.
  • The vendor lists its desktop app as beta.

Made up your mind?

Cursor

Freemium

Best for Developers who want an agent to plan and edit across a codebase

OpenCode

Free

Best for Developers who want an open-source coding agent in the terminal

Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.