Skip to main content
AIDiveForge AIDiveForge

Agentkit AI vs Plug and AI

Which one should you try?

Agentkit AI

Freemium

Best for Small to mid-market businesses without dedicated AI engineering

Plug and AI

Freemium

Best for Startups and SMBs on any Slack plan looking to reduce per-seat AI costs

Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Agentkit AI

Agentkit AI

Agentkit is a no-code chatbot builder that trains on your website content, PDFs, and Q&A pairs, then embeds as a chat widget with a single script tag. Auto-retrain keeps web sources refreshed on a schedule, so the bot answers from current content without intervention. Lead capture, buttons, custom forms, and API calls trigger inside conversations based on context — no separate plugin required. The ceiling arrives at scale: message limits are per-plan and non-negotiable, multi-agent setups cap at three chatbots on the highest tier, and storage per chatbot tops out at 40MB regardless of plan. Teams with high document volume or complex branching logic will feel those walls.

Plug and AI

Plug and AI

The tool runs as a Slack bot: prefix your message with @ai and a model tag, and it routes the request to whichever model you specified — GPT, Claude, Gemini, Llama, Mistral, or image generators like Flux. One workspace credit pool covers every team member, billed on usage at wholesale rates plus a small fee. Channel and thread summarization works with free open-source models, meaning teams on Slack's free plan get catch-up summaries at zero marginal cost. The task-reminder feature is still in beta and skips native Slack /remind by targeting other users and whole channels — useful, but not yet production-hardened. When a team's usage grows large enough that the usage-based total approaches the cost of dedicated per-seat tools, the math on shared billing stops being the obvious win.

AttributeAgentkit AIPlug and AI
PricingFreemiumFreemium
Price$29.99/mo~$35/mo
Pricing checkedJun 11, 2026Jun 11, 2026
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Open sourceNoNo
Has APIYesNo
Self-hosted optionNoNo
PlatformsWeb-based; embeds on WordPress, Shopify, Webflow, Wix, Squarespace, Framer, Next.js, and any HTML siteSlack
Pros
  • Single-script embed works on every major CMS and custom HTML sites, so your team ships a working bot without touching the site's backend or waiting on engineering.
  • 12 AI model options including GPT and Claude variants, so when one model underperforms on your specific content type you switch without rearchitecting the setup.
  • Built-in lead capture and API-triggered actions fire from conversation context, which means a sales bot can qualify a visitor and push data to your CRM in one session — no separate workflow tool needed.
  • Auto-retrain on web sources (a paid-only feature) keeps answers current without manual re-uploads, so the bot does not silently serve outdated policy or pricing information to customers.
  • 95-plus language auto-detection means a single deployed bot handles a multilingual customer base without building separate locale-specific agents.
  • Shared workspace credit balance instead of per-seat licenses, so a team of ten does not need ten individual subscriptions and reimbursement overhead disappears.
  • 300+ models accessible by prefix in any channel or DM, which means switching from GPT to Claude or Gemini when one model underperforms a specific task takes a single word change — no account switching, no new login.
  • Channel and thread summarization runs on free open-source models at zero cost, so teams on Slack's free plan get catch-up summaries without paying Slack AI's per-user fee.
  • One-time Stripe top-up covers the whole team, which means finance gets one line item instead of a spreadsheet of individual AI subscriptions to audit.
  • Opt-in Zero Data Retention means prompts are never stored or used for training, so teams handling sensitive content can use the tool without routing data through a model provider's training pipeline.
Cons
  • Storage caps at 40MB per chatbot on every paid tier — a moderately sized product documentation library or multi-year knowledge base exceeds that ceiling, and teams respond by aggressively pruning content or splitting documentation across multiple bot slots, which burns through their agent count.
  • Monthly message limits are hard per-plan caps: the top tier covers 40,000 messages per month across up to three chatbots, which a mid-market e-commerce site with seasonal traffic spikes can exhaust in days — at that point the choice is overpaying for unused capacity in slow months or migrating to a platform with consumption-based pricing.
  • Auto-retrain and white-label removal are gated behind paid tiers, so free-tier deployments show Agentkit branding and require manual content refreshes — teams evaluating this for a client-facing product discover that a production-ready setup requires paid commitment before meaningful volume testing.
  • The tool requires an explicit prompt for every action — there is no background monitoring, no decision loop, and no task chaining without a human typing each step. Teams that need an agent to watch a channel and act on new messages without being asked will hit this ceiling immediately and move to a dedicated agent platform.
  • The task-reminder feature is still in beta, which means it is not yet suitable as a dependency in any workflow where dropped or delayed reminders create operational risk — teams running project-critical follow-ups should keep a dedicated task tool in parallel.
  • No API access and no self-hosted option means the workspace credit and routing layer live entirely on the vendor's infrastructure. Teams with strict data residency requirements or internal security policies that prohibit third-party Slack bots with message access cannot deploy this without a policy exception.

Made up your mind?

Agentkit AI

Freemium

Best for Small to mid-market businesses without dedicated AI engineering

Plug and AI

Freemium

Best for Startups and SMBs on any Slack plan looking to reduce per-seat AI costs

Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.