MagicSchool AI vs Open-source AI language learning app
MagicSchool AI has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while Open-source AI language learning app is free. Open-source AI language learning app is open source and MagicSchool AI is not. You can run Open-source AI language learning app on your own machine or server; MagicSchool AI is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
MagicSchool AI
FreemiumBest for School districts needing compliant AI
Open-source AI language learning app
FreeBest for iOS users seeking free language practice
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

MagicSchool AI
The platform gives teachers 80+ one-shot generation tools — lesson plans, rubrics, quizzes, writing feedback — wrapped in SOC 2-certified, FERPA/COPPA-compliant infrastructure, so the district's legal and IT teams stop blocking AI and start endorsing it. Administrators get usage dashboards that surface what's actually happening across classrooms. Students get their own tool set with guardrails teachers configure. The friction point appears when a school needs AI to do more than generate a document — anything requiring multi-step task execution, API access to internal systems, or custom model configuration hits a ceiling the platform isn't designed to clear. Teams with those needs look elsewhere; teams that mostly need compliant content generation at scale stay.

Open-source AI language learning app
OpenLanguage is an iOS app that pairs voice input and output with an AI tutor to give you real spoken practice, level-matched topics, and real-time corrections mid-conversation. The build path requires pnpm and Xcode, so getting it onto a device is a developer task, not a tap-to-install one. You supply the API key from whichever provider you use — nothing is proxied through a vendor backend. The ceiling shows up immediately if you are not on iOS or if you want a managed cloud version with zero setup: neither exists. Teams that need Android support or a hosted option will look elsewhere before they finish reading the README.
| Attribute | MagicSchool AI | Open-source AI language learning app |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Price | $12.99/mo or $99.96/year | — |
| Pricing checked | Jul 1, 2026 | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | Yes |
| Has API | No | No |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Web | iPhone and iPad (free on the App Store, iOS 15.1+); source build with pnpm and Xcode |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
MagicSchool AI
FreemiumBest for School districts needing compliant AI
Open-source AI language learning app
FreeBest for iOS users seeking free language practice
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.