KeyVox vs Murf AI
You can run KeyVox on your own machine or server; Murf AI is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

KeyVox
KeyVox installs as a keyboard on iOS and a menu-bar app on macOS, transcribes via downloaded AI models (~190 MB for Whisper, ~480 MB for Parakeet), and writes text into any app the moment you release the trigger key. The Vibes feature applies reversible writing styles after dictation — so you can rephrase a casual voice note into a formal email without re-dictating. The Speak module reads copied text aloud using on-device voices. Where it breaks: KeyVox is a dictation keyboard, not a manual typing keyboard, so users who want to mix voice and touch typing in the same session have to switch back to their system keyboard constantly. Intel Mac support exists, but Apple Silicon is the architecture this runs well on.

Murf AI
Murf converts written scripts into natural-sounding audio using a library of 200+ AI voices across 35+ languages. The core value proposition is speed and cost: creators can produce professional voiceovers in minutes instead of weeks, and at a fraction of traditional voice-over rates. The free tier lets you generate up to 10 minutes of audio monthly; paid plans start around $10/month and scale to enterprise. The honest limitation is that AI voices, while improving, still lack the dynamic range and emotional nuance of skilled human voice actors—they work well for explainer videos and podcasts but less well for narrative fiction or brand-critical content.
| Attribute | KeyVox | Murf AI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Price | — | $19/mo |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Apr 10, 2026 |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | No | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | Yes | No |
| Platforms | macOS, iOS | Web, Windows, Canva, Google Slides |
| Languages | — | English, Spanish, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin, Portuguese, Russian, Arabic |
| Released | — | 2021 |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.