Emem vs Memharness
Emem has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while Memharness is free. You can run Memharness on your own machine or server; Emem is hosted by the vendor.
Which one should you try?
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Emem
emem stores facts as short, signed tokens — each one a content-addressed handle that any agent can carry through a summarization pass, hand to another agent on a different model or vendor, and resolve back to the exact signed bytes without trusting whoever sent them. The verify step is offline: recompute the hash and ed25519 signature yourself, no server call required. Cold resolution runs around 180 ms; warm cache hits around 10 ms, with every receipt reporting its own latency stats. The honest caveat from the vendor's own benchmarks: against a bare inline number, a single emem token costs 5.8x more context — the savings only appear when you bundle multiple facts into one round trip.

Memharness
The core premise is storing facts, not strings, with two independent time axes: when something became true in the world and when the agent learned it — so querying past agent states is a real query, not archaeology through logs. Everything lives in a single SQLite file, which means the storage layer makes zero LLM or network calls and stays auditable. Recall combines hybrid vector search and full-text search with a source-staleness signal, so older or superseded sources rank down automatically. Where it breaks: the SQLite backend is a hard ceiling for teams expecting distributed writes or high-concurrency production deployments. Teams hitting that ceiling will need to treat memharness as a pattern to port, not a service to scale horizontally.
| Attribute | Emem | Memharness |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes | Yes |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Web, API, MCP | SQLite, MCP |
| Released | 2026-05 | — |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.