embed-english-v3.0 vs jina-embeddings-v3
Which one should you try?
embed-english-v3.0
FreemiumBest for English-only semantic search applications
jina-embeddings-v3
FreemiumBest for Teams building multilingual retrieval systems across 30+ languages where OpenAI and Cohere APIs aren't available or…
Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

embed-english-v3.0
embed-english-v3.0 generates semantic embeddings from English text, producing 1,024-dimensional vectors suitable for retrieval-augmented generation, classification, clustering, and semantic search tasks. It achieves state-of-the-art performance on MTEB and BEIR benchmarks and was trained on approximately 1 billion English training pairs. The model supports batches of up to 96 inputs with 512 tokens maximum per input, and supports both text and image embedding. Pricing is $0.10 per million tokens. A notable limitation is that it requires explicit input_type specification to differentiate between search documents, queries, classification, and clustering tasks.

jina-embeddings-v3
Fast multilingual embeddings that outperform OpenAI on MTEB, but LoRA adapters complicate efficient serving and newer models have widened the gap.
| Attribute | embed-english-v3.0 | jina-embeddings-v3 |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Price | $0.10 per million tokens | $0.018 per 1M tokens (Jina API) |
| Pricing checked | Not checked yet | Not checked yet |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Has API | Yes | Yes |
| Self-hosted option | No | No |
| Platforms | Cohere API, AWS SageMaker, Azure AI Foundry, OCI Generative AI | — |
| Languages | English (primary); text-image multimodal support | — |
| Released | 2024 | — |
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
Made up your mind?
embed-english-v3.0
FreemiumBest for English-only semantic search applications
jina-embeddings-v3
FreemiumBest for Teams building multilingual retrieval systems across 30+ languages where OpenAI and Cohere APIs aren't available or…
Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.