Skip to main content
AIDiveForge AIDiveForge

EditTextImage vs OpenArt AI

Bottom line

EditTextImage is paid, while OpenArt AI has a free plan plus paid upgrades.

Which one should you try?

EditTextImage

Paid

Best for Marketing teams testing ad copy variations

OpenArt AI

Freemium

Best for Digital artists and designers

Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

EditTextImage

EditTextImage

The tool takes an uploaded image, a string of original text, and a replacement string, then returns the edited image with font, color, perspective, and background preserved — no design software required. The vendor states output resolution hits 2K and average processing time runs around 12 seconds. That workflow covers the obvious cases: updating a date on an event flyer, swapping a headline in an ad creative, localizing an app screenshot without rebuilding the UI mockup from scratch. Where it stops: there is no API, no batch processing described on the page, and no self-hosted option — so teams handling hundreds of assets programmatically hit a wall fast. At that point, teams move to scriptable design APIs or purpose-built localization pipelines.

OpenArt AI

OpenArt AI

The platform covers the loop from text-to-image generation through editing passes: inpainting, face and hand correction, background swapping, upscaling, and image-to-video conversion are all inside the same interface. The character consistency tooling is the clearest differentiator — the vendor describes generating images of the same character across scenes from a single source image or description, which matters for any project building a visual narrative rather than one-off assets. The free tier ships with trial credits that expire monthly, so production workflows hit a paywall fast. Teams with high generation volume will exhaust credits before end of sprint and face a choice between paid tiers or moving volume to a different pipeline.

AttributeEditTextImageOpenArt AI
PricingPaidFreemium
Price—$12.6/mo - $175.2/mo
Pricing checkedJul 1, 2026Jun 11, 2026
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Open sourceNoNo
Has APINoNo
Self-hosted optionNoNo
PlatformsWebWeb-based (browser)
Released—2022
Pros
  • Preserves font, color, perspective, and background pixels around the replaced text, so the output is production-usable without a cleanup pass in a separate editor.
  • One free credit requires no credit card, so you can validate whether the tool handles your specific image type before committing spend.
  • Credits never expire and commercial use is included, which means a batch of credits bought for a campaign launch does not go to waste if the timeline slips.
  • 2K output resolution, so the edited asset does not need to be upscaled before it goes into an ad creative or product listing.
  • No software installation or design skills required, which unblocks marketing and product managers who would otherwise wait in a designer's queue for a single-word change.
  • Full editing suite alongside generation — inpainting, upscaling, background removal, face and hand correction — so you avoid rebuilding the same asset in three separate tools after the initial generation.
  • Character consistency tooling lets you generate the same character across scenes from one source image, which means a brand mascot or recurring illustration character stays visually stable without manual prompt engineering on every frame.
  • Image-to-video conversion is built in, so a marketing team can take a generated static asset to a short video clip without switching platforms or re-exporting files.
  • Optional prompt usage, as the vendor describes, means you can work from visual references and style inputs rather than writing prompts — which removes the iteration tax of prompt engineering for artists who think visually.
  • Multi-model access in a single interface, so you can test which underlying model handles a specific style or subject without managing separate accounts or API credentials.
Cons
  • No API and no batch mode: teams localizing app screenshots into 10+ languages must upload and process each image individually through the browser, which is not a viable workflow at scale — at that point teams switch to scriptable design tools or localization platforms that accept bulk asset pipelines.
  • The input cap is 10 MB and accepted formats are PNG, JPEG, and WebP only — RAW files, PDFs, and high-resolution print assets above that size require conversion before upload, adding a step that breaks the 'under 30 seconds' promise for production print workflows.
  • There is no self-hosted or on-premise option, so teams with data residency requirements or policies against uploading proprietary packaging or document images to third-party servers cannot use the tool at all, and the request logs the vendor states are preserved for law enforcement purposes make that constraint non-negotiable for regulated industries.
  • Monthly credits expire regardless of usage — a team running a campaign with high generation volume will exhaust the free tier inside days and hit a hard stop mid-workflow, with no carry-forward on unused credits.
  • No API access is described on the vendor page, which means the platform cannot be integrated into a programmatic content pipeline; teams building automated asset generation at scale will need to route that work through a different provider entirely.
  • No self-hosted option means any team with data residency or IP-ownership requirements for generated assets cannot deploy OpenArt on their own infrastructure — at which point the conversation moves to open-source alternatives like ComfyUI or Stable Diffusion deployed locally.
  • Complex multi-step editing that requires precise mask control or layer-based compositing will exhaust what the inpainting and editing tools can express; production studios doing heavy retouching end up in Photoshop anyway, making the editing suite redundant for that segment.

Made up your mind?

EditTextImage

Paid

Best for Marketing teams testing ad copy variations

OpenArt AI

Freemium

Best for Digital artists and designers

Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.