Skip to main content
AIDiveForge AIDiveForge

Command Center vs OpenCode

Bottom line

Command Center has a free plan plus paid upgrades, while OpenCode is free. OpenCode is open source and Command Center is not.

Which one should you try?

Command Center

Freemium

Best for Teams using multiple AI coding agents

OpenCode

Free

Best for Developers who want an open-source coding agent in the terminal

Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Command Center

Command Center

The tool sits between your existing coding agents — Claude, Codex, Cursor — and your production branch, handling the three steps that break without it: reading a massive diff in a logical order instead of alphabetical chaos, running a refactoring agent that catches duplicate components and committed secrets a quick skim misses, and spawning fresh agents per feedback item so small tweaks do not pollute your main context. The walkthrough feature turns a 2000-line diff into an arrow-key-driven reading sequence. The refactoring agent resolves maintainability and security issues in a single pass. Where it strains: teams with deeply custom CI pipelines or non-standard Git hosts will hit the assumption that you are working on GitHub, and the free tier caps usage before production-scale volume.

OpenCode

OpenCode

OpenCode is an MIT-licensed AI coding agent for the terminal that works with the model provider you choose, including local models. We installed it and ran three agent tasks: 9 of 9 passed with Claude Opus 5.5, 3 of 9 with a 3B local model.

AttributeCommand CenterOpenCode
PricingFreemiumFree
Price$7/moFree (MIT). Optional Zen models pay as you go; Go $10/mo, Go Plus $40/mo
Pricing checkedJun 11, 2026Oct 19, 2026
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Open sourceNoYes
Has APINoYes
Self-hosted optionYesYes
PlatformsWeb (browser), IDE integration, npmTerminal, Desktop (beta macOS/Windows/Linux), IDE extension
Released2025-10-27—
Pros
  • Walkthrough-guided diff reading presents changes in logical dependency order rather than alphabetical file order, so you stop staring at a 2000-line diff wondering where to start and start pressing an arrow key.
  • Refactoring agent catches structural issues — duplicated components, hard-coded config, committed secrets, race-condition null derefs — that a code review under deadline pressure misses, so the bug that becomes a 2am hotfix gets caught before merge.
  • Parallel agent management surfaces all active coding agents in one place with a keystroke-based context switch, so the 45-minute tab-juggling overhead the vendor documents disappears without forcing you off the agents you already trust.
  • Feedback spawns a fresh agent per change request rather than appending to an existing context, so small tweaks do not degrade the quality of your primary agent's remaining work.
  • Runs locally with a self-hosted option, so codebases that cannot touch external infrastructure can still use the full workflow without a compliance carve-out.
  • Passed all 9 of our agent tasks with Claude Opus 5.5.
  • Works with the provider you choose, including a local model behind an OpenAI-compatible server.
  • Open source under the MIT license.
Cons
  • The tool assumes github.com as the Git remote — the vendor's own example comments call this out explicitly ('Assumes github.com — breaks on GitLab / self-hosted git'). Teams on GitLab or internal Git servers cannot use the remote-aware features without a workaround, and at that point they are patching around a core assumption rather than using the tool as designed.
  • There is no API surface. Teams that want to gate a CI/CD pipeline on refactoring-agent results — blocking a merge until the agent signs off — have no machine-readable hook to call. This is a manual-only tool, which means any automation around it requires a human in the loop by definition.
  • Free tier usage caps hit before production-scale AI coding volume. Teams shipping multiple large diffs per day will reach the ceiling and either pay or context-switch back to the tab chaos the tool was built to replace — at which point the value proposition breaks unless the paid tier is approved.
  • With a 3B local model it passed 3 of 9 tasks (only the simplest one), so plan on a larger model.
  • It reaches out to models.opencode.ai and registry.npmjs.org, and downloads provider packages on first use, so offline setups need those pre-installed.
  • The vendor lists its desktop app as beta.

Made up your mind?

Command Center

Freemium

Best for Teams using multiple AI coding agents

OpenCode

Free

Best for Developers who want an open-source coding agent in the terminal

Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.