Skip to main content
AIDiveForge AIDiveForge

Claude Code vs Skywork

People searching "skywork vs claude" mostly mean the Claude chat app, not Claude Code, so this covers both. Skywork is a workspace from Singapore's SKYWORK AI PTE. LTD. that turns a prompt into slides, documents, spreadsheets, images or video. Claude Code is Anthropic's agent for working inside a software repository. Claude, the regular app, is the closer rival to Skywork: it also writes and builds files, but you steer it through a conversation rather than picking a template.

Skywork against the Claude app

Skywork's site is organised around outputs: Slides, Documents, Sheets, Images, Videos and a design tool, plus reusable Skills. Its App Store listing adds SkyClaw, a cloud multi-agent assistant for long tasks, and VoiceNote for recordings. If what you need at the end is a deck or a formatted report, Skywork is built around getting you there.

Claude is a general assistant. The free plan already creates files, runs code and searches the web, with up to 5 projects. Research mode and Claude Code start on Pro at $20 a month ($17 a month billed yearly). You do more of the shaping yourself, which suits work that's mostly reading, reasoning and writing rather than producing a styled deliverable.

What Skywork charges

skywork.ai doesn't show prices until you sign in. The iPhone app's in-app purchases list Basic monthly at $19.99 (with other Basic prices up to $24.99), Plus monthly at $49.99, and a 15,000-credit pack at $34.99; it's credit-based, so heavy video or slide work costs more. Skywork's site doesn't document a public developer API.

Where Claude Code fits

Claude Code is a different product: it reads a codebase, edits files, runs tests and opens pull requests, from a terminal, VS Code, JetBrains, the desktop app or the web. It's included with Pro and above, or billed through an API key. Skywork lists an "AI Developer" agent but doesn't describe it, so if you write software, Claude Code is the one built for the job.

Claude Code: Pick Claude Code (or the Claude app it comes with) if your work is code in a repository, or mostly reasoning and writing you want to steer turn by turn.

Skywork: Pick Skywork if you want a finished slide deck, report, spreadsheet or video from one prompt and don't mind paying in credits.

Facts checked Oct 18, 2026 against 5 sources

Which one should you try?

Claude Code

Paid

Best for Developers comfortable reviewing code and commands

Skywork

Freemium

Best for Depth & Verifiability for accurate, verifiable content; Task Specialization with vertical AI Super Agents; Multi-Modal…

Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Claude Code

Claude Code

Anthropic's coding agent for editing repositories, running commands and tests, and reviewing changes.

Skywork

Skywork

Skywork deploys what it calls Super Agents — task-specialized agents that handle discrete output types including documents, slides, spreadsheets, podcasts, and video — so a single research prompt can fan out into multiple finished formats without manual reformatting. The vendor states citations are embedded in outputs, which addresses the verification problem that makes generic AI drafts unusable in analyst and academic workflows. The free tier runs on a daily credit cap, so high-volume or back-to-back generation tasks hit a ceiling fast. There is no self-hosted option, which rules out any team with data residency requirements. Teams doing complex conditional branching across agent steps will find the platform's current surface area constraining.

AttributeClaude CodeSkywork
PricingPaidFreemium
PricePro US$20/month or US$200/year billed upfront; API/provider usage billed separatelyBasic $19.99/mo, Plus $49.99/mo (credit-based; prices shown only after sign-in or in the App Store)
Pricing checkedOct 17, 2026Oct 19, 2026
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Open sourceNoNo
Has APIYesNo
Self-hosted optionNoNo
PlatformsTerminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, webWeb, iOS, and Android, Windows Desktop
Released—2025-05
Pros
  • Edits files and runs project commands within a repository
  • Terminal and supported IDE workflows
  • MCP and automation options extend project tooling
  • Multi-modal Super Agents handle discrete output types — documents, slides, sheets, podcasts, video — in a single workflow, so you avoid the manual reformatting loop that eats hours after every research pass.
  • The vendor states outputs include citations, which means analysts and academics get a deliverable they can actually defend, rather than a fluent draft they have to re-source from scratch.
  • Task-specialized agent architecture means each output type has a dedicated agent rather than a single generalist, so domain-specific formatting conventions are more likely to hold across output types.
  • Free tier entry point with daily credits lets a team validate the agent's output quality against their specific use case before committing budget — avoiding the scenario where you discover the tool breaks on your content type after a paid contract.
  • End-to-end workflow design — from research query to finished deliverable — means the handoff between research and production is handled inside the platform, reducing the number of tools a team has to coordinate.
Cons
  • Usage limits or API charges depend on authentication
  • Generated code and commands still require review
  • Self-hosted runners retain hosted inference and session traffic
  • The daily credit cap on the free tier blocks any realistic production workflow: a consultant running three or four research-to-deck tasks in a morning exhausts the allocation before lunch, forcing a choice between upgrading or stopping work mid-sprint.
  • No self-hosted option exists. Any team operating under data residency requirements, healthcare data rules, or enterprise security policies that prohibit third-party cloud processing cannot use the platform at all — they move to a self-hostable alternative regardless of output quality.
  • Complex agent coordination — branching based on what one agent returns before triggering the next — is not described as a configurable capability on the vendor's current surface. Teams that need conditional logic across agent steps are building that layer themselves outside the platform.
  • The platform launched publicly in May 2025, meaning production reliability data, edge-case failure documentation, and community-reported workarounds are thin. Teams making a tooling decision with a six-month roadmap are betting on a product with a short public track record.

Made up your mind?

Claude Code

Paid

Best for Developers comfortable reviewing code and commands

Skywork

Freemium

Best for Depth & Verifiability for accurate, verifiable content; Task Specialization with vertical AI Super Agents; Multi-Modal…

Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.

Share this comparison