Skip to main content
AIDiveForge AIDiveForge

Claude Code vs CoreAI Model Zoo

Bottom line

Claude Code is paid, while CoreAI Model Zoo is free. CoreAI Model Zoo is open source and Claude Code is not. You can run CoreAI Model Zoo on your own machine or server; Claude Code is hosted by the vendor.

Which one should you try?

Claude Code

Paid

Best for Developers comfortable reviewing code and commands

CoreAI Model Zoo

Free

Best for Apple Silicon on-device AI development

Pricing, capabilities and platforms side by side. Prices are as of the "Pricing checked" date in the table.

Claude Code

Claude Code

Anthropic's coding agent for editing repositories, running commands and tests, and reviewing changes.

CoreAI Model Zoo

CoreAI Model Zoo

The repo ships Qwen3.5, Qwen3.6, Gemma 4, GLM-4, and LFM variants already converted, verified against iPhone 17 Pro GPU and ANE, and downloadable from Hugging Face. Conversion code, known gotchas, custom Metal kernels, and a Swift runner are included so teams can replicate or extend the work rather than reverse-engineer it. The larger dense and MoE models — Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3.6-35B-A3B, GLM-4.7-Flash — are flagged Mac-only, so iPhone deployment is constrained to the smaller quantized variants. There is no API, no inference server, and no tooling outside the Apple ecosystem; teams targeting Android, Windows, or server-side inference will find nothing applicable here.

AttributeClaude CodeCoreAI Model Zoo
PricingPaidFree
PricePro US$20/month or US$200/year billed upfront; API/provider usage billed separately—
Pricing checkedOct 17, 2026Not checked yet
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Open sourceNoYes
Has APIYesNo
Self-hosted optionNoYes
PlatformsTerminal, VS Code, JetBrains, desktop, webiOS 27, macOS 27, iPhone 17 Pro, M4 Max
Pros
  • Edits files and runs project commands within a repository
  • Terminal and supported IDE workflows
  • MCP and automation options extend project tooling
  • Pre-converted `.aimodel` files verified on iPhone 17 Pro GPU and ANE, so you skip the conversion trial-and-error that otherwise consumes a sprint before you write a single line of app code.
  • Conversion scripts and documented gotchas are published alongside the models, which means when Apple updates the format and your model breaks, you have a reproducible starting point rather than a blank slate.
  • Custom Metal kernel examples for ANE versus GPU benchmarking are included, so teams optimizing inference latency on-device have concrete code to profile against rather than guessing at kernel configuration.
  • Apache-2.0 and MIT licensed models in the zoo, so commercial iOS app deployments are not blocked by license restrictions on the converted artifacts.
  • Self-hosted and fully offline — no API calls, no telemetry, no dependency on an external service going down during your demo or your App Store submission review.
Cons
  • Usage limits or API charges depend on authentication
  • Generated code and commands still require review
  • Self-hosted runners retain hosted inference and session traffic
  • Larger models — Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3.6-35B-A3B, GLM-4.7-Flash — are explicitly Mac-only; iPhone deployment is limited to the smaller quantized variants, and teams building iPhone features around a 27B-class model will hit this wall at the architecture decision stage, not at integration.
  • Model coverage reflects a single maintainer's conversion queue. When a team needs a model family not in the zoo — Mistral, Phi-4, LLaMA variants — there is no community pipeline to request or submit conversions, so they fork the conversion scripts and maintain their own repo from that point forward.
  • There is no inference API, no server runtime, and no cross-platform path; teams that start here and later need Android parity or a backend inference endpoint abandon this entirely and re-implement against a different runtime such as llama.cpp or ONNX Runtime.

Made up your mind?

Claude Code

Paid

Best for Developers comfortable reviewing code and commands

CoreAI Model Zoo

Free

Best for Apple Silicon on-device AI development

Specs come from each tool's own site and docs (how we test). AIDiveForge is editorially independent.

Share this comparison